Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2021, 09:23 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,337
Default *******Fix for Apple Security Update bricking displays*******

UPDATE:
The fix is now officially released.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2021, 11:11 PM
john@wombatstudios.com.au john@wombatstudios.com.au is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Causing issues with my S3 OLEDS. When both page buttons are pressed together to show monitor levels etc, the OLED displays as normal. Rest of OLEDS still full brightness with no contrast - unreadable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2021, 12:45 AM
dmajorsound dmajorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 4
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

same problem here... but just when eucon is started and working
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s3-oled.jpg (70.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg s3 workstation.jpg (51.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2021, 09:20 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,337
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Please can you leave us details. OS version, number of displays connected
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2021, 04:19 PM
john@wombatstudios.com.au john@wombatstudios.com.au is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Catalina V10.15.7, 3 displays connected. S3 only, not using PTcontrol for iPad etc. Installed security update which caused problem. Working fine before then. Oleds work fine on startup, displaying AVID.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-23-2021, 12:42 PM
audiograce audiograce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 168
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Crap ... too late ... completely Blanked out scribble strips on all 3 of my S1's. Is there an easy solution back back-reving OS (Mojave?)

Eucon 2021.6
PT 2020.12.1
MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
__________________
...tg...
Warner Bros. Studios
imdb Credits
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2021, 09:53 AM
RadarFlora RadarFlora is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Seeing yellow over here, too. I'm on an Avid S3, OS 10.15.7
Thanks to all investigating - best of luck!
Grant
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2021, 05:32 PM
joeshepard joeshepard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 38
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Same here Mac OS 10.15.7

Eucon 2021.6

4 screens total
2 Artist mixes both with yellow screens.

1 Avid control on iPad Pro and 1 Pro Tools Dock both seem to be fine

Joe
__________________
Late 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB memory, 1TB SSD
MAC OS 10.15.7
UA Apollo 8 Quad Blackface, UA TB Octo Satellite
Pro Tools 2021.6.1
EuCon 2021.6
Logic Pro 10.6.2
2 Artist Mixes
Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2021, 01:46 AM
dmajorsound dmajorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 4
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Please can you leave us details. OS version, number of displays connected
@Avid:
Catalina (last Update)
PT: 2021.06
Eucon 2021.6
Mac Pro - Cheesegrader 12 Core
4 Screens total (3 HDMI onRadeon Graphics + 1 BlackMagic Intensity Pro via PCIe)
2 8x4 Streamdecks via usb hub for soundflow

going back to an old timemachine snapshot was the only way for me to proceed working

Last edited by dmajorsound; 07-25-2021 at 01:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2021, 11:17 AM
bfreer bfreer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Quote:
Originally Posted by john@wombatstudios.com.au View Post
Catalina V10.15.7, 3 displays connected. S3 only, not using PTcontrol for iPad etc. Installed security update which caused problem. Working fine before then. Oleds work fine on startup, displaying AVID.
Same here for my S1, running Catalina 10.15.7. I just installed the latest security update a couple days back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*******Fix for Apple Security Update bricking displays******* EddieJones Artist Series 63 09-18-2021 11:05 AM
Do not load latest Security Update from Apple Park Seward macOS 5 03-12-2015 06:22 AM
apple security update 2009-002? nst7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-14-2009 11:45 AM
OK To Do Apple Security Updates? hitshack Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-30-2006 07:29 AM
Apple's security update is out, should i update? Arvid Gunardi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2003 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com