Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2008, 12:26 AM
BIG D BIG D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 411
Default Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

Hi All,

I am looking at the following.

Motherboard: INTEL S5000XVN

CPU: Initially 1 INTEL QUAD XEON E5420 (will add a second CPU once VISTA is QUALIFIED)

Memory: 2 sticks of Kingston 2G(Single) 667 DDR2 ECC Fully Buffered CL5 (KVR667D2D4F5/2GI)

I use an older Digidesign chassis and I am building this box with the upcoming VISTA qualification in mind. This configuration is pretty much the internals of the new INTEL MAC systems. The board can take up to 32 gig of Ram and 2 cpus etc.

I'll run this on the current XP SP3 and dual boot it with VISTA for later.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Big D
__________________
INTEL QUAD XEON
INTEL S5000XVN serverboard
4 gig Fully Buffered Ram (About to add more)
3 x WD500gig SATA, 1 x WD1T32mb SATA cache Green
NVIDIA Geforce 7300le,
Command 8,HD2,192,Massive Pack 4
Windows 7 64 bit PTHD 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:11 PM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tri State
Posts: 59
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

Hey Big D. I can't say anything about the motherboard you're considering but I can vouch for the Intel Harpertown processors. I'm running dual Harpertown quads with all eight cores and I can't believe how well it's working (XP Pro SC2, PT 7.3.1sc6). Ironically, the approved Macs seem to be having troubles with these same processors from reports here.

From what little bit I understand, these processors are supposed to handle multicore scheduling better than the previous versions. My experience bears this out. I used Pro Tools for a while without the Windows multicore patch installed and these processors seemed to work perfectly fine, no spiking at all, but I installed the patch anyway and the load seemed to drop slightly on the CPU meter. The CPU is much steadier with these processors than my AMD X2 4400 was.

I haven't done any benchmark testing or anything yet, but if someone could recommend one that would be a meaningful reference for people here, I'll run it.

Good luck with the build.
__________________
HP Z440, E5-1650v4, Nvidia NVS 510
Win10, Ultimate 2020 12.0, HDX, S3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2009, 06:56 PM
kirkgale kirkgale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: korea
Posts: 71
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

Hi Yambike,

I'd be interested in any update on your PTHD3 (PCIx) Accel system running on the Dell T7400 (i.e., no regrets or other instabilities?)...

since I have the same PT hardware and am trying to escape an old G5 w/out cross-grading, just as you were last July...

Also, am I misreading the Duc build threads...they don't seem to talk much about using dual socket mobos....?

thanks in advance...
__________________
kirk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2009, 06:37 PM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tri State
Posts: 59
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

No regrets at all with this system, especially with the CPU's. It's amazing how I can pile up RTAS plugs and the CPU meter stays so steady. No other computer I've worked on comes close in this respect. I was surprised when I saw that the Harpertown Mac users initially had spiking issues when my unapproved machine (that I took a blind leap on) was working so well.

I wonder if this model is still spec'd with the same CPU. I can only vouch for the Harpertown.

It's been a while since I checked out the build threads. I can't recall whether there was any dual socket boards mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2009, 07:49 PM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tri State
Posts: 59
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

As it turns out, the T7400 is now Digi approved for PTHD 8. My lone wolf status was pulled out from under me ...

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...&categoryid=35
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2009, 04:51 PM
Mattafact Mattafact is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 113
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yambike View Post
As it turns out, the T7400 is now Digi approved for PTHD 8. My lone wolf status was pulled out from under me ...

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...&categoryid=35
I just picked up a T5400 yesterday. I can't wait to get it going with my new HD2.
__________________
Breakthru Recording
www.myspace.com/breakthrurecording
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2009, 09:34 PM
kirkgale kirkgale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: korea
Posts: 71
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

I'm quite close now to giving my builder the go ahead to cobble together (for use w/ an HDAccel 3 -PCI system) an i7 940 running on the Supermicro X8SAX and one of the 3 drives being that Intel Solid State 156 GB (so that Ivory hopefully won't have any more unacceptable latency as it always has running off my G5 firewire drive).


Speak now if you've any wisdom against this (e.g., I'd tried to research the components of your Dell T5400 or 7400 in order for the builder to stuff them into a rack mountable case but he keeps telling me these Dell systems are not squeezable into an ATX form factor...I'm going religious against fanning equipment being outside the enclosed server case I bought).

Kirk
__________________
kirk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2009, 01:45 PM
Mattafact Mattafact is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 113
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

I did a web search and found a company that makes a 4 post rack shelf to hold the T5400. My rack has rack rails front and back so I'm going to see if it will fit like that. It was about $150.
__________________
Breakthru Recording
www.myspace.com/breakthrurecording
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2009, 12:37 PM
lunatic lunatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
Default Re: Building New System... thoughts on this spec. appreciated?

Link to that rack shelf for your Dell please ?
__________________
Brad Smalling
Evergroove Studio
A Colorado Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading system and PT. Opinions would be appreciated. Matt Rushmore Windows 10 02-08-2011 02:10 PM
Upgrading to the 003--Your thoughts/suggestions appreciated! toddamo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-16-2007 12:58 PM
System drive spec help Aussie Scott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-17-2004 02:16 AM
I'm building a PC...any thoughts? Josh K 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-20-2003 09:50 AM
Opinions appreciated on new PC spec please. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-05-2001 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com