Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2013, 10:45 AM
ianbee ianbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
Default Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Is there a difference between the regular Mbox 3 and the Mbox Pro 3 in terms of preamp quality?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2013, 05:48 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

I bought a Pro because they 'claim' the pres are better. However I sent mine to Black Lion Audio and had them do a full upgrade to everything. The Pro NOW sounds as good as my SSL console!!!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2013, 05:51 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
I bought a Pro because they 'claim' the pres are better. However I sent mine to Black Lion Audio and had them do a full upgrade to everything. The Pro NOW sounds as good as my SSL console!!!
Are they very transparent sounding or do they have color?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2013, 07:35 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

They sound like a straight wire with gain and amazing A/D. That's my preference for working, anyway. I'd rather choose the mic for the sound and not the preamp.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:28 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,811
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

As far as I know, the preamps are pretty similar in the 2 units, though the specs are a little different.

However, the Mbox Pro has a more substantial power supply, being AC powered, which typically lends itself to a bit more headroom and lower THD.

As was mentioned, being able to go line in and bypass the pre's (on the Pro) is a nice feature if you are using external preamps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2014, 08:51 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
I bought a Pro because they 'claim' the pres are better. However I sent mine to Black Lion Audio and had them do a full upgrade to everything. The Pro NOW sounds as good as my SSL console!!!
Eric is this the MOD you had done?

http://blacklionaudio.com/product/mbox-3-pro/

Premium Modification
The Mbox 3 Pro Premium Modification includes everything in the Standard Mod, but goes a step beyond. In addition to the new op-amps, we also install new audio-grade electrolytic capacitors that dramatically improve bass response and tame the brittle-sounding high end noticeable with the Mbox 3 Pro. Most “affordable” audio gear use low-grade capacitors that will work okay, but just don’t sound very musical in the audio signal paths. We choose premium audio-grade caps that are MADE ESPECIALLY for processing audio signals and make a huge difference in the resulting sound. This kind of rich tone is very difficult, if not impossible, to find in low-powered recording interfaces like the Mbox 3 Pro, but can now be yours at a great price.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2014, 09:26 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Yup, the premium mod, along with their Micro Clock. Good stuff!!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2015, 07:46 PM
Swamp Turkey Swamp Turkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fosston, MN
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
Yup, the premium mod, along with their Micro Clock. Good stuff!!
I might BE FORCED to go with this BLA mod for my Mbox 3 Pro even though Eric is the only person I have found who has actually done it (doesn't make me super confident). Why?

Well, BE WARNED MBOX 3 PRO USERS, apparently the Mbox 3 Pro's line inputs are WAY too hot when using an external preamp (which I had planned on using when I bought the interface).

I have to say, this makes me extremely disappointed in Avid's design specs and I feel like I have been fleeced. This will limit my creativity very much as I like to implement different preamp flavors on my recordings.

Has anyone heard if Avid is offering to attenuate the line input gains INSIDE the unit (as they rightly should)?

I do not want to get into using SPIDF or gerry-rigged resistor pads or Shure's separate pad. All are just a half-way patch job compared to what I want to do and what the Mbox 3 Pro PROMISED to do.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2015, 04:26 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamp Turkey View Post
I might BE FORCED to go with this BLA mod for my Mbox 3 Pro even though Eric is the only person I have found who has actually done it (doesn't make me super confident). Why?
BLA still offers it, so someone other than me MUST be doing the mod. It made sense for me because I picked up the Pro3 on eBay from some kid who never opened it, but wanted to keep the software. No problem for me as I already had PT9 or 10. I paid $500 for the Pro3 and $890 for the full mod and MicroClock. The mod alone is $550. For me it was a no-brainer since I didn't pay full pop for the device.

You can certainly ask BLA how many of those mods they've done, if you're worried about it, but they do stand TOTALLY behind all of their work, so it shouldn't be an issue, in my mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
2010 further proves the point that the jive bird was not fleeced.

Most interfaces that you purchased 5 years ago would not be suitable for your use today as you grow and change and add hardware
Another reason to have BLA do the mod. Chances are, they've made substantial improvements on THEIR upgrades over when I did it in 2013. They can bring your old Pro3 'closer' to current technology, IMHO.

As far as using external pres... my thought, especially after doing the BLA mods, was to get a pre that had SPDIF out for two more good sounding channels, giving me a total of 6 with the Pro3. What I have externally is the Audient Mico http://audient.com/products/mico-dua...e-preamplifier which is a great addition, especiailly when using the Mico with a single-point stereo mic.

Good luck with your shopping...
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2021, 12:21 PM
skystudios skystudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 24
Default Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
Yup, the premium mod, along with their Micro Clock. Good stuff!!
Specs not avid-digi commercial talk pleeeeze
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preamps on MBox gazo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-14-2008 11:16 PM
Original Mbox vs. Mbox 2 (preamps) JMH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-25-2008 08:29 PM
MBox Preamps Bender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-11-2007 10:09 AM
Mbox Preamps jandw1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-06-2005 08:29 PM
preamps and mbox juicytunes General Discussion 5 01-05-2005 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com