Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:38 PM
xSHANNONX xSHANNONX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default 002 firewire connection issues

I've been having trouble keeping my 002 connected. I keep getting the unit not connected error. I have a powerbook G4. I'm assuming the problem is with the firewire on the 002. The light stays green very seldom. It mostly flickers while I'm working and I am forced to keep trying to reconnect over and over and over. When I first got the unit I never had this problem. Anyone else?

shannon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:58 PM
Guerrilla Tech Guerrilla Tech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 116
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

In the past, some have blamed inferior firewire cables from digi. Once replaced, allproblems were gone until the power harnes gave out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2004, 04:16 PM
koko koko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Pole
Posts: 148
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

Search the" Pro Tools LE for Mac: Digi 002...." for "power harness". Then you might consider popping of the lid on your 002R (I assume) and crimping some wires.
It's hilarious ... but also sad .
__________________
Post Meridian Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2004, 06:36 PM
judedog judedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

Just yesterday I started experiencing the same problem. My display started going crazy too. Random dots everywhere... Am I having the same firewire problem or do you think this is something else?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:25 PM
mixtkid mixtkid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

if you have an ibook, that might be the renowned logic board issue. Better check out the apple site for their repair program.
__________________
-------------------
ibook 700mHz
Digi 002 rack
OSX 10.3.4
Akai z8 Sampler
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:54 PM
xSHANNONX xSHANNONX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

I have an 002, not the 002R. I've tried a different firewire cable. I'm going to try one more. Maybe it's the actual firewire port of my powerbook. I might just have to take it in to get it checked out. If it's not that, then I'm screwed. I can't work for more than 5 minutes before it disconnects. It has to be a firewire issue. If i jiggle the cable, I can sometimes get it to connect again or at least flicker. What should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2004, 02:10 AM
ozone ozone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London,UK
Posts: 31
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

Shannon, this is almost certainly the power harness problem. Flickering green firewire light on the back/self-rebooting 002/clicking from within the unit/chaotic yellow LED displays: I had them all. On two units in succession.

Get the thing back to your distributor.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2004, 10:37 AM
gtrne1 gtrne1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Georgetown,on
Posts: 43
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

Hi,

I had a similar problem lately. It started with the flickering green light also and progressed to getting the " pro tools can't find hardware" prompt all the time.

I changed the firewire cable and harness to no avail. I took the 002r to a friends studio and it worked like a charm there.

Turned out it was the actual firewire ports on my G4 tower and was covered under warranty.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2004, 10:41 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,918
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

i also had those issues (cannot connect), when i didn't have enough power for a live gig (only had one 16A fuse for 4kW PA and protools) and those went away as soon as local tech was able to provide 3x32A power for us. so point being, it might be related to the power harness issue.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:47 PM
xSHANNONX xSHANNONX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: 002 firewire connection issues

cool. thanks for the help everyone. i'm gonna take my mac in to get my firewire port checked (cuz i have a feeling that's the problem) and change my power supply and try a new firewire cable. if none of that works, i will have to call digi and get it fixed. i don't have the yellow display stuff going on so hopefully it's not all that bad. we'll see what happens.

thanks again everyone.

shannon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Euphonix Mix Connection Issues mikenewport Artist Series 27 05-18-2013 06:13 AM
firewire and connection issues barrel90 Windows 3 02-19-2013 11:08 PM
Firewire connection issues Funkey1 macOS 6 07-05-2012 07:41 PM
Connection issues charraig 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-17-2011 04:50 PM
UPS/USB connection issues Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-03-2005 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com