Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2021, 02:10 PM
swethington swethington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 65
Default 2021.3 graphics glitch?

Since updating to 2021.3 I've noticed an intermittent graphics glitch in the bottom half of the screen when using Pro Tools. It happens infrequently and seemingly at random so I haven't been able to really troubleshoot whether or not any particular action I take is triggering it but it doesn't seem so (it's happened in a plug-in heavy mix session and also in a simple tracking session with very few plugins). It's a quick flash of white/black blocks in the lower part of the display.

I'm using a MacBook Pro and I've seen this happen both on the built-in display and also when connected to an external HP Z27 display with the MBP closed. I've only seen this glitch in Pro Tools, and only since updating to 2021.3.

Anyone else have this issue?
__________________
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM, Big Sur 11.4 (or sometimes MacBook Pro 2016, Intel i7, 16 GM RAM, Big Sur 11.4), Pro Tools 2021.6, Avid S1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2021, 02:15 PM
metalindian's Avatar
metalindian metalindian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Rome
Posts: 6
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by swethington View Post
Since updating to 2021.3 I've noticed an intermittent graphics glitch in the bottom half of the screen when using Pro Tools. It happens infrequently and seemingly at random so I haven't been able to really troubleshoot whether or not any particular action I take is triggering it but it doesn't seem so (it's happened in a plug-in heavy mix session and also in a simple tracking session with very few plugins). It's a quick flash of white/black blocks in the lower part of the display.

I'm using a MacBook Pro and I've seen this happen both on the built-in display and also when connected to an external HP Z27 display with the MBP closed. I've only seen this glitch in Pro Tools, and only since updating to 2021.3.

Anyone else have this issue?

Yes, same here. After Clean install Of Big Sur and clean install Of PT I have a random Glitch.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2021, 05:31 PM
Chris August Chris August is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 30
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

I have the same thing happening. I’m running a MacBook Pro in clamshell with an oled monitor and have had this happen a bunch since the update.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2021, 06:31 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 705
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

I have the same thing as well. It's like monitor flicker. I'm figuring it will get put on the list of stuff to get fixed...
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.4 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.8
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2021, 06:46 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 888
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

Everything's fine on my system, for the record.
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.6|Ultimate • UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2GHz i7 6-core macOS 10.15.7 • RAM 64GB DDR4 GPU AMD 5700XT 8GB • Monitor LG 32UL950-W
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2021, 12:05 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 705
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrentWilliams View Post
Everything's fine on my system, for the record.

It happens if you select a section of a wave file, the screen under your section has a slight flicker, almost like a page refresh, or better yet, back in the day when you'd point a video camera at an old school tube-tv set.

It only does it under certain conditions.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.4 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.8
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2021, 12:24 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,823
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

I get a freeze every 10 seconds on my Win 10 machine. Annoying at best. Nvidia just released a new driver for my graphics card. We’ll see.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2021, 01:09 PM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 505
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

It happends on mine too. But I'm on a M1 Mac Mini.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS Big Sur 11.4 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools 2021.3 Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2021, 08:06 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 100
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

Same thing here. 2020 iMac 27 inch 5K monitor. I see it mostly in the edit window and it will be horizontal along a track often times when it’s in volume at not waveform view. And it doesn’t happen in the same place on the monitor all the time. It has something to do with the actual track itself I believe because the graphics glitch appears to follow the length of the track.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2021, 11:48 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: 2021.3 graphics glitch?

Does anyone notice the fader levels becoming glitchy and not snappy once you open few plugins while the mix window is open as well ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 11.4
Pro Tools 2021.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 11

UA Apollo 8p
Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Marshall Amp/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Yamaha FG820L/Martin DJr10e
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840/Slate VMS

https://open.spotify.com/artist/7KfV..._branch=1&nd=1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics glitch every 60 seconds in 12.5 [SOLVED] DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 12 5 03-29-2018 01:29 PM
Graphics glitch in 12.8.2!! Cryos Pro Tools 12 3 12-12-2017 11:51 PM
Air Plugins Cause Graphics Scaling Glitch on 4K Display jarwady Pro Tools 12 10 07-03-2017 03:51 PM
Anybody sees this graphics glitch? Meads Pro Tools 12 12 09-03-2015 10:46 AM
PT8 - Pan Window Graphics Glitch JamesH Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-19-2009 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com