Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2021, 05:39 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Bug?: Waveforms appear larger while recording

Since I’ve installed 2021.3.1 on High Sierra, I’ve noticed that when I record, the waveform looks larger. When I stop playback, the waveform immediately shrinks back to its correct size. I thought this was just an issue on my system, but today a friend of mine told me he was seeing the seams thing in Big Sur. Is anybody else noticing this issue?

I got a video of it today and I’ll post a link to the video showing the issue once I get a moment.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2021, 05:48 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,412
Default Re: Bug?: Waveforms appear larger while recording

Anything you see on Big Sur can be related to Rosetta layer
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2021, 07:59 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Bug?: Waveforms appear larger while recording

K. Here is a video that shows what I'm seeing:

Waveform Bug
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2021, 11:38 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Bug?: Waveforms appear larger while recording

Is nobody else seeing this? It’s driving me crazy!
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2021, 11:54 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,542
Default Re: Bug?: Waveforms appear larger while recording

Not happening for me with PT 2021.3.1 (or 2020.12) on Catalina.

Does it happen to you in Pro Tools 2020.12?

PT 2021.3.1 isn't officially supported on High Sierra so it could be related to that.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2021, 06:40 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Bug?: Waveforms appear larger while recording

My mistake, I'm on Catalina.

I figured it out. I had Clips displaying Power instead of Peak. I changed the setting and now it works as expected.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't see the waveforms while recording...! Joemamma Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 10-29-2015 06:18 PM
Any way to display waveforms as you're recording? Undertones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 04-18-2010 03:45 PM
identical waveforms look larger on different track TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-02-2007 06:02 AM
How come I can't see waveforms while recording? ckevperry Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-12-2001 07:05 PM
render waveforms while recording jaglance Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-06-2000 07:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com