Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 05-30-2020, 10:49 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoHI View Post
Update:

Just re-installed and opted out on sending diagnostics to Avid. That's the only change. WORKING NOW. No graphics freeze.
Could this be the problem? This was in the steps that fixed it for me and it seems that it could be the only consistent thing that could happen between multiple OS versions and need to connect with a network to send report data to Avid.

Is there anyone who opted out on sending diagnostics to Avid that is still having this problem?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-31-2020, 02:05 AM
johan2006 johan2006 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 54
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoHI View Post
Just re-installed and opted out on sending diagnostics to Avid. That's the only change. WORKING NOW. No graphics freeze.
Did the same, and no more issues. Tried 2 sessions and previously it'd freeze almost immediately but now it seems fine.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-31-2020, 02:31 AM
Brian Hudson Brian Hudson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 73
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

I have identical issue, hit the play key get a swirly beach ball for about a second then plays, play cursor freezes whilst audio unaltered, all same if capture a midi note. I'm on Mac OS Mojave 10.14.5 and on ProTools 20.19.0. My sense tells me this may have something to do with authentication with ILok cloud process and has nothing to do with Mac OS or ProTools, time will tell and I hope soon
__________________
Brian Hudson
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-31-2020, 03:45 AM
gub gub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Patch, Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Yeah same problem here....

Very annoying

Thought it was EZbass I recently installed :)

I think I might hold off before trying some of the solutions posted.....

pretty poor considering the costs involved

Last edited by gub; 05-31-2020 at 04:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-31-2020, 04:20 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 420
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

+1 here... I thought the issue way my system (a one-week-old hackintosh, running mojave), but since i see it's widespread, and only happening in PT (not ableton or any non-audio apps), looks like it's PT.

agree that it might have to do with the mojave security update of a few days ago, which i also installed... are all you guys on mojave by any chance? or was there a recent catalina update as well?
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-31-2020, 04:22 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 420
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hudson View Post
I'm on Mac OS Mojave 10.14.5 and on ProTools 20.19.0.
wow it even happens in the *future*??? not good news

(the latest PT is 20.5 )
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-31-2020, 04:27 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 420
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoHI View Post
Update:

Just re-installed and opted out on sending diagnostics to Avid. That's the only change. WORKING NOW. No graphics freeze.
AHA, nice one. I just turned off "send anonymous pro tools usage data to avid" inside preferences/operation, restarted PT, and i think it has cleared up, without a reinstall... been testing 15 minutes and so far so good (before, it was happening every 5 seconds)...

guys i think this solves it

I suspect something in Apple's latest security update messes with the firewall settings, which makes PT hang when trying to submit logs...

pt 20.5 / mojave 10.14.6 / hackintosh fyi
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies

Last edited by huzzam; 05-31-2020 at 04:35 AM. Reason: problem solved!!!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-31-2020, 07:39 AM
Joe Egan Joe Egan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hyde Park,MA,USA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
AHA, nice one. I just turned off "send anonymous pro tools usage data to avid" inside preferences/operation, restarted PT, and i think it has cleared up, without a reinstall... been testing 15 minutes and so far so good (before, it was happening every 5 seconds)...

guys i think this solves it

I suspect something in Apple's latest security update messes with the firewall settings, which makes PT hang when trying to submit logs...

pt 20.5 / mojave 10.14.6 / hackintosh fyi
That didn't work for me. Turning off Network connections and leaving them off worked.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-31-2020, 08:05 AM
Joe Egan Joe Egan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hyde Park,MA,USA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Turning off Network connections and leaving them off worked.

However, I just uninstalled and re-installed the 2020.3 driver and it's working now.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-31-2020, 08:28 AM
Sixto6 Sixto6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Graphic freeze on playback

Turning off "send anonymous pro tools usage data to avid", rebooting PT with network ON works for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Sierra graphic freeze reichman macOS 2 10-02-2018 01:03 PM
Pro Tools 10 HD (Cursor Freeze/Playback Freeze) vinlance Pro Tools 10 1 07-13-2013 11:40 AM
Fixed: Intermittent Graphic Freeze When Using Pro Tools crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-03-2007 07:25 AM
Automation edits during playback crashes and graphic freezes Chris A Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-12-2007 10:27 PM
graphic freeze...all gone?? ThomasPMusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 03-30-2007 09:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com