Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Old 01-10-2013, 11:11 AM

Default Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

So I have one of the older '07 MacPros that can do Lion but not Mountain Lion. I'm still holding at Snow Leopard. I just found out that I can still get Lion from Apple if I want to. Question is, do I want to? I have zero experience with Lion.I DO have Mountain Lion on another machine here, but not running PT on that one.

So there's my basic question. Are ther any pros and/or cons to moving to Lion 7.4 from Snow Leopard? Will I regret it? Love it? Anyone?
Old 01-10-2013, 12:18 PM

I think the only pros that were related to pro tools going to lion for me ah well let's just say there weren't any I didn't notice any significant difference

Now outside of ProTools two big differences that I found really helpful were resizing the finder window and searching from the address bar inside of Safari

That's it
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue

http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Old 01-10-2013, 01:01 PM

Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricWillhelm View Post
So I have one of the older '07 MacPros that can do Lion but not Mountain Lion. I'm still holding at Snow Leopard. I just found out that I can still get Lion from Apple if I want to. Question is, do I want to? I have zero experience with Lion.I DO have Mountain Lion on another machine here, but not running PT on that one.

So there's my basic question. Are ther any pros and/or cons to moving to Lion 7.4 from Snow Leopard? Will I regret it? Love it? Anyone?