Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2021, 06:35 AM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 269
Default No Video Engine in PT 2021.6 on M1 Mac

No video engine. Of course, I am running an unsupported Mac mini with the M1 chip, but it was running well on 21.3.

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 07-01-2021 at 05:27 PM. Reason: Broken out from thread about video probs on supported computer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2021, 07:58 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,889
Default Re: Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.6

No video engine for M1.

It's written on every note of this version release.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.4, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2021, 01:26 PM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 269
Default Re: Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.6

Avid DnX HD 36 23.976

It worked in PT 2020.11 and 2021.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2021, 01:42 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,889
Default Re: Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by budster View Post
Avid DnX HD 36 23.976

It worked in PT 2020.11 and 2021.3
M1 no video engine. Right there in the notes on 2021.6.

There's a whole thing about native code vs translation code (rosetta 2) concerning the M chips. If Avid moved 2021.6 to more native code, then certain modular components that are still only translation code won't work with it. That's just how it is. All on one side or the other.
2021.3 and 2020.11 were 100% translation code.
2021.6 is Avid moving Pro Tools to native code. Not everything is ported at once and they put the specific note that video engine is NOT supported. So this shouldn't be a surprise and it's a pointless waste of time to try to get it to work because it simply won't. Wait for the next release. Stick with older versions.

(this is just like other things -- Logic native M1 won't run with Eucon because Eucon was only translation code so you had to run the translation code version of Logic to use Eucon. Eventually all these things will be on the same side but that is not now.)

This is not the OP's problem so I'd like to stick with their issue that should be solvable.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.4, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2021, 12:18 AM
theAlien's Avatar
theAlien theAlien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vienna
Posts: 28
Default Re: Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
M1 no video engine. Right there in the notes on 2021.6.

2021.6 is Avid moving Pro Tools to native code. Not everything is ported at once and they put the specific note that video engine is NOT supported.
Release Notes explicitly states *supported via Rosetta 2*. So, which part of Pro Tools' code is executing ARM instructions in what situations?

I'm asking bc I'm waiting for full support for my HDX purchase/move.

Thx.
__________________
Best,
ALN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2021, 12:23 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,889
Default Re: Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by theAlien View Post
Release Notes explicitly states *supported via Rosetta 2*. So, which part of Pro Tools' code is executing ARM instructions in what situations?

I'm asking bc I'm waiting for full support for my HDX purchase/move.

Thx.
Read the release notes again. No HDX (no drivers yet) and No Video Engine.

Quote:
Not supported on M1 Macs at this time:
  • Avid Video Engine is not available on M1 Macs at this time. However, we are working with Apple to resolve known issues to be compatible in the future.
  • Pro Tools | HDX, Pro Tools | HD Native, and DADman software (MTRX & MTRX Studio) are not supported on M1 Macs at this time.
  • Before updating, check to see if your third-party plugins and other programs are officially supported on a new OS.
Pro Tools System Usage CPU count on M1 Macs
  • Due to the innovative combination of Performance cores & High Efficiency cores in M1 machines, the Pro Tools Hardware Monitor will only display 4 CPUs as the majority of the processing needs to be accomplished in the Performance domain.
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.4, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2021, 12:34 AM
theAlien's Avatar
theAlien theAlien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vienna
Posts: 28
Default Re: No Video Engine in PT 2021.6 on M1 Mac

BScout, you seem not to understand me.

Your post gives the impression that you say they have *partially* ARM code in PT, which is not possible (I am a former SW developer and I know what I am talking.)

Your statement is wrong. Either PT is compiled to ARM, to Intel or both as universal. Either it needs Rosetta or it can be run natively. Intel code with some ARM instructions hiding somewhere does surely not represent the real world(*).

Edit: This can be easily checked. In Terminal enter
Code:
file /Applications/<app name>/Contents/MacOS/<binary name>
which will immediately reveal all supported architectures.

And as I understand, the whole PT package is still distributed as Intel code. (I don't have PT currently installed to test it.)

But what we may observe in the near future is, Avid could release the PT package in layers; PT still Intel (as this needs most development resources) and drivers, daemons etc. as ARM (as subsystems cannot be run via Rosetta.)

(*) speaking practically not technically. Technically it is possible to embed any binary into your code, of course, including opcodes and instructions of any architecture.
__________________
Best,
ALN

Last edited by theAlien; 07-02-2021 at 01:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2021, 07:13 PM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 219
Default Re: No Video Engine in PT 2021.6 on M1 Mac

Just to clarify - does the lack of video engine support in this release mean there is no video capability at all or that it is lacking the advanced output setting features?
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2021, 12:31 AM
NeilMc NeilMc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9
Default Re: No Video Engine in PT 2021.6 on M1 Mac

There is no video capability at all.
It is disabled for the M1
(as opposed to 2021.3)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2021, 10:57 AM
Leon77 Leon77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: 2306 rang st edouard
Posts: 12
Default Re: No Video Engine in PT 2021.6 on M1 Mac

HI,

I've been able to use a program called Shutter Encoder to make an MXF file from the Mp4 that PT 2021 will load on my M1 Mini.

It is still EXTREMELY glitchy and unreliable. Multiple restarts required at every session -- I stopped actually ever quitting, I just leave PT open and computer on, permanently. However, I had to import some ADR tracks from another session and so the video engine is broken again.

I don't have the option of downgrading, however, as my old Mini died midway through a film sound design project, so I am stuck with this clunky workaround which only works half the time.

I am dying to know when this will be fixed. Or, if anyone has got a better workaround. I was accustomed to the reliability of my old PT. Once this project is finished I'll likely cancel my subscription until this is fixed, and do my post in Logic. UGH.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2021.3 Video engine and bounce to .mov crashes. spoons Pro Tools 40 08-23-2021 03:36 PM
Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.6 PasteEater Pro Tools 1 07-01-2021 07:59 AM
Video Engine won't initialize in PT 2021.6 DAPG Pro Tools 12 06-29-2021 06:39 AM
Video Engine Problems in PT 2021.03.1 PasteEater Pro Tools 8 05-05-2021 10:10 PM
Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" oscar_wonderboy macOS 5 08-14-2018 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com