Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2021, 01:57 PM
DAPG DAPG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 160
Default Video Engine won't initialize in PT 2021.6

After installing 2021.6, when I try to open a session the video engine won't initialize. Any suggestions? Reverted back to previous PT version until I can figure this out.
__________________
Roy Machado
Dallas Audio Post
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2021, 02:09 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Are you using an M1 (Apple Silicon) Mac? If so, this is a known compatibility issue as stated in the compatibility notes for this release.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2021, 02:20 PM
DAPG DAPG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 160
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

No, using 2019 Mac Pro.
__________________
Roy Machado
Dallas Audio Post
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2021, 02:27 PM
indeloon85 indeloon85 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 134
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Same issue here on a 2018 MBP running Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2021, 02:31 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,860
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Are you using a Standard (non-admin) account? If so can you login with an Admin account and try again?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2021, 02:47 PM
indeloon85 indeloon85 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 134
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Yup! Swapping to an Admin account fixed it! So something with a standard account that doesn’t allow
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2021, 03:25 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,860
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Thanks for confirming! You should be able to switch back to your Standard User account now.

From the PT 2021.6 Read Me...

“Error launching video engine” reported with non-admin accounts. (UME-1631)
An “Error launching video engine” message may be encountered when enabling the Video Engine (Setup > Playback Engine) with
non-admin accounts after installing Pro Tools. If you encounter this message, switch to an administrator account, launch Pro Tools, and
enable the Video Engine, then switch back to the non-admin account.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2021, 07:08 AM
DAPG DAPG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 160
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Confirmed. Going to the admin account fixed it. Thanks!!!!
__________________
Roy Machado
Dallas Audio Post
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2021, 11:41 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,860
Default Re: 2021.6 - Video Engine won't initialize

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAPG View Post
Confirmed. Going to the admin account fixed it. Thanks!!!!
Glad to hear that! Added this to our KB:
avid.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/Troubleshooting/Pro-Tools-Video-Engine-fails-to-launch
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2021, 07:26 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: Video Engine won't initialize in PT 2021.6

To clarify, this solves the issue for Intel-based Macs. Per the requirements and compatibility documentation, the M1-based Macs still cannot run the video engine. Right?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video engine failed to initialize... humpback 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 11-15-2011 09:43 PM
7.4 video engine failed to initialize greenwood Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 01-18-2008 12:40 AM
Video engine failed to initialize on HD 7.3.1 AlexanderSim Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 06-17-2007 10:22 PM
Video Engine Failed to Initialize tom.joyce Post - Surround - Video 2 12-19-2006 09:40 AM
Video Engine Failed to Initialize JimLeb Post - Surround - Video 5 04-28-2006 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com