Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-12-2000, 03:45 PM

Default Plug in advice

I'm a 001 owner and would like some advice as to what would be a good stradegic plan for buying plug ins on a limited budget. I seemed to be obsessed with very high end gear like Focusrite... I'm leaning towards a good quality eq and compressor for the 001. Has anyone had experience running mhlab's Channel Strip, McDSP's filter bank, Waves Renaissance... Would any of these be best suited for the 001 on a G4 350. I am a complete beginner and want to make a well informed decision as to what will render the best results for making my music sound the best that it can. If anyone has sound advice on anything to do with plug ins for a novice I would greatly appreciate hearing from you. Also, maybe EQ isn't the best place to start, I'm open to all suggestions! Cheers from Bill in Vancouver!
Old 06-12-2000, 06:08 PM

Default Re: Plug in advice

Hey Bill-

IMHO, McDSP's CompressorBank may be a better deal than the Waves compressors. I played with the demo of CompressorBank and I've owned the Waves Gold Bundle for a bit now. I'm kind of not a happy Waves customer just now. The big bad exploding plug-in bug is really starting to fray my nerves. Also the dongle's pretty flaky (even after slowing down the iMate's ADB polling). And I wrote to customer service a week ago with a question and haven't heard back. I'd kind of expect better treatment after buying the Gold bloody bundle...