Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-19-1999, 02:47 PM

Default Medium Term Storage for pro-tools data and audio files

I'm new to the Pro Tools world and am getting conflicting responses on DAT backup.What is the best way for me to store pro-tools data and audio files for the term of say 6 months to a year?I would really appreciate any advice and expierences anyone has had.
Old 10-19-1999, 05:10 PM

Default Re: Medium Term Storage for pro-tools data and audio files

i have been burning data cd's for backup. I burn two copies for everything i care about, and put one in a safe place in a different area. i have been using this method of backup for two years and can assure you it has held up better than any da-88, adat, ar dat tape i have used to archive. i have not had a succesful burn go bad and not be recoverable. i have burned a few coasters, but i knew they were coasters right away. i have had a few years taken off my young life by unsuccessful *tape* backups
hope this helps.
Old 10-20-1999, 06:59 PM

Thanks for the info Coaster.I'm a little concerned about size and i realize i will need to to do back ups of different types and will have to store multiple copies in two different locations.I'm still looking for as many expiernces with storage mediums before i shave any years off my life.
Old 10-21-1999, 02:34 PM

Tracken99, and Coaster,