Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2003, 05:40 PM
fifty8th1 fifty8th1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 297
Default Does 6.1.... Sound... better than 5.1

Anyone have an opinion ?

Has anyone thought 6.1 on Mac OSX sounds better in anyway than 5.1 running in Mac OS 9 ??

Fifty8th
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2003, 09:43 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,836
Default Re: Does 6.1.... Sound... better than 5.1

It might be funny and non-sense but when I moved from 4.3 to 5.1.1, same TDM mix system, same board 02R, same interfaces I felt an improvment.
So?
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2003, 09:00 AM
fifty8th1 fifty8th1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 297
Default Re: Does 6.1.... Sound... better than 5.1

OSX is better in the latency department...maybe that would add up to better recordings...

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2003, 06:29 PM
fifty8th1 fifty8th1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 297
Default Re: Does 6.1.... Sound... better than 5.1

Just read in another post that useing 6.1 means that our dual 1 gig G4 will use the other processor...and bouncing down USING Tweek Head might become the common thing.

fifty8th

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2003, 06:50 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,836
Default Re: Does 6.1.... Sound... better than 5.1

I always bounce with the excelent/best setting. I have never bounced with tweak head. In my old days of G3 233, it was a nightmare... I was 29.. at the end of the bounce I was 53!
lol
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2003, 07:01 PM
maxserg maxserg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: St-Roch-de-l\'Achigan, Québec
Posts: 824
Default Re: Does 6.1.... Sound... better than 5.1

Yes and with my Sony video monitor, it is better!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 master volume knob initial adjust jumps from no sound to sound : | Focuret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2012 04:45 PM
Audacity Sound, Reaper Sound, Pro Tools NO SOUND RoganX Pro Tools 10 3 03-18-2012 09:06 PM
MBox2Pro - Boot:No Sound; Disconnect/Reconnect Firewire: Get Sound; Why? mav9999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-23-2009 08:48 PM
Skywalker Sound (Lucasfilm) Supervising Sound Editor Interview HDFilmtools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-02-2008 03:12 PM
MBox used as main sound card but sound is jerky Jonny5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-03-2006 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com