Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-24-2009, 07:33 AM

Default Drum Miking uestion

I recently got some drum tracks sent to me that were done at another studio. To my surpirise they sound great! Each drum was close miked with a room and an over head. Heres my question..... there was only one overhead on a mono track. How would i get my stereo drum sound from just this one mic? My first intention would be to just duplicate the track and drag one of them back .015 milliseconds or so and pan hard left and right. I guess id do the same with the mono room track? Any insight or tips would be appreciated as I am new to mixing a real kit

Thanks!
Old 08-24-2009, 07:39 AM

Default Re: Drum Miking uestion

there's a pretty good thread/argument here: http://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-mu...-overhead.html

To be honest, my preferred method on this kind of thing is get a good room reverb (mono>stereo) on the channel and have the mix at around 80% wet. Compress the hell out of it and hey presto, wide drums.
Old 08-24-2009, 07:45 AM

I would not duplicate them like that, unless you're going for a very specific effect. It probably won't sound natural.

My suggestion, and it is hard to say without listening, is to pan your room mic in one direction and the OH in the other. You have to use your ears to find the right %s.

Also, try sending the close mics to a stereo 'verb. That'll open up the sound a bit too.
www.stolenalibi.com
Old 08-24-2009, 08:06 AM