Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2016, 08:47 AM
EdwardG's Avatar
EdwardG EdwardG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK/Finland/Spain
Posts: 97
Default Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

Anyone with a fix for that?
Working on the go with a Macbook pro, deadline 2 days from now, every time it happens I have to reset the buffer size to keep working... I'm gonna miss the deadline.

I am not doing much, working on 2 sdd hardrive and just 20 tracks for foley and effects and 3 avid eqs... no more than that..

16 gb ram i7 quadcore
protools 12.5
codec for video PRORES Proxy very tiny around 360
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2016, 09:48 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardG View Post
Anyone with a fix for that?
No, sorry.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardG View Post
Working on the go with a Macbook pro, deadline 2 days from now, every time it happens I have to reset the buffer size to keep working…
Setup-->Preferences-->Operation-->Play Start Latency - What happens if you set this to something other than 1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardG View Post
I'm gonna miss the deadline.

I am not doing much, working on 2 sdd hardrive
Do you have TRIM enabled on these SSDs? What is the purpose of each SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardG View Post
and just 20 tracks for foley and effects and 3 avid eqs... no more than that..
Do you have any other apps open? A web browser, a mail client, a PDF reader, etc.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardG View Post
16 gb ram i7 quadcore
protools 12.5
codec for video PRORES Proxy very tiny around 360
Which OS? The size of the PRORES (proxy) is unlikely to be the source of the problem.

Have you opened a support case with Avid?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2016, 10:25 AM
mdvirtual mdvirtual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 140
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

Maybe try running the video from the other SSD? Also, I've had the best luck with the video set to actual size so there's no processor or GPU hit for scaling.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Michael Damon
Composer/Sound Designer
Virtual Productions

PT Ultimate 2021.3, i9-9900k, 64GB RAM, Gigabyte Aorus Ultra MB, Sapphire Radeon RX580, Windows 10 Pro, Fireface UFX

PT 12.3.1, MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz Core i5, 8GB RAM, OS 10.10.5 Yosemite
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2016, 10:35 AM
EdwardG's Avatar
EdwardG EdwardG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK/Finland/Spain
Posts: 97
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

Trying right know the Play start latency at 3.
tried 5... is a no no, it would slow down my workflow very much.

Trim is enabled.

One SSD mac os x 10.9.5 and the Video File. (Mavericks worked until now just perfect for me not willing to change)
SECOND SSD Libraries and stuff

No apps at all, dropbox in the Mac OS upper bar.

I mean that the size is 480 x 360 and being proxy etc it should not be the problem I suppose...

no time to go asking avid I've got 2 days for deadline...
cant even be here typing this... if there is no known fix then Im off working as it is right know U_U.

It's being really a pain in the arse, I needed to change buffer size around 30 times in an hour so the video engine works again...

thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2016, 11:55 AM
EdwardG's Avatar
EdwardG EdwardG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK/Finland/Spain
Posts: 97
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

Tried with play back delay at 3 and 5 now...

none fixes the problem...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2016, 03:38 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Lightbulb Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

Are you using Pro Tools | HD? If so, do you have free memory (check /Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor)? If yes, set Setup-->Playback Engine-->Disk Cache to the value of free memory and see if it helps.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2016, 07:01 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,313
Default 12.5.1 Still has video engine failed to shut down.

Just saying.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2016, 05:21 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: 12.5.1 Still has video engine failed to shut down.

That's too bad - I guess I'll stick to 12.4 a little longer then.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2016, 05:49 AM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: 12.5.1 Still has video engine failed to shut down.

Yep I had the Video Engine was Unable to Stop error a couple of times today on 12.5.1 also.

I also had another editing crash while trying to select a midi region on an instrument track. Early days yet but it seems fairly similar to 12.5 to me so far in terms of stability.
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-17-2016, 02:35 PM
PostMorgan PostMorgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop

We've just been testing 12.5.0

Trying to determine if we can run using just one HDX card instead of 2, to save $$$ of course!

Printed 5.1 and stereo STEMs without any issue with 2 HDX cards. Because voices were only at 202, pulled one HDX card and printed STEMs again.

THIS is when picture would freeze about 14 minutes in, always at the same location.

Then would have to force quit Pro Tools, open again, remove video and delete video track.

If this is AVIDs way to forcing long time users to buy more gear, it is a very DIRTY move on their part.

AVID - FIX YOUR SH#T!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The avid video engine was unable to stop" error hbadger30 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 10-01-2019 04:51 AM
AVID Video Engine unable to stop 12.5 mattrixx Pro Tools 12 8 06-17-2016 02:32 PM
Avid Video Engine Avid Audio Japan Admin Pro Tools HD, HD Native、ICONフォーラム 0 05-20-2016 08:34 AM
AVID Could you please tell us what is going on with Avid Video Engine Development? Ray JB Post - Surround - Video 3 09-22-2015 05:59 PM
Video engine keeps playing after I stop Schottlandru Windows 0 09-22-2014 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com