Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:32 PM
murray656 murray656 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Default Proper way to save session in previous PT version?

Hello,

I have a Pro Tools session that was opened and edited on PT 8. I now need to save it as a PT 6.4 session for mixing.

What is the proper way to do this? I've seen "Save Session In", but get a warning about Downgrading a session fader gain of +12 to +6.

These sessions were created and started in 6.4, then moved to 8 in a different studio, and now need to go back without losing any audio file pointers.

I don't care about plugins, fades, automation, etc, only care about keeping new tracks and edits from 8.

Thanks
Murray
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:11 PM
murray656 murray656 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Proper way to save session in previous PT version?

Correction, saving from 8 to 6.4 format
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:18 PM
murray656 murray656 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Proper way to save session in previous PT version?

Ok, I believe I was understanding the "Save Copy In" options wrong. When I saw "5.1->6.9" option after selecting "Save Copy In", I was thinking it meant upgrade from 5.1 to 6.9 as it had an arrow "->" in the name which is misleading.

I believe it means saving from 5.1 to 6.9 versions. I hope I'm correct.

Found this article that helped http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=23442

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let me know if I'm wrong in my new understanding.

Best
Murray
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2009, 01:33 AM
Studio Studio Studio Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: Proper way to save session in previous PT version?

From saving to <6.9 (which are PT versions) you loose the +12 volume option, the extra sends. You won't loose any tracks, edits or automation. So it's safe to do it. Why not try and see what you end up with?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
save session as version 8 James Drake Pro Tools 10 3 07-18-2012 02:48 PM
Can I Install PT 9.0.5 Without Previous PT9 Version? taylor4814 Windows 2 09-28-2011 01:44 PM
saving in previous version Andres Gonzalez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-24-2010 05:57 PM
the PROPER way to copy/save PT sessions? Steven O'Neill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-22-2008 08:38 PM
save session as older PT version (5) gordon Russell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-24-2007 09:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com