Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2011, 06:39 AM
martinaston martinaston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 179
Default Magic ID does not match

I have a problem opening a file. The last time I shut down Pro-Tools 9 I saved my file and all was well. I then went to You Tube, had a slight issue and what I perceived at the time as a minor crash, came back into the system, booted Pro-Tools 9 (all updated and working perfectly), tried to re-open the last file and was met with HORROR OF HORRORS this:

"Magic ID does not match"

Is the file corrupt? Is it retrievable? Gulp.

Win 7 64 bit, Intel Quad 3.00GHz, 8Gb RAM, Readyboost is in use also
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2011, 07:24 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Gulp
I think your file is now corrupt.
I had this message once and could not recover
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2011, 07:51 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Create a new session and try to import everything from the old.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2011, 08:22 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Check your backup folder.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2011, 08:46 AM
martinaston martinaston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 179
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulreed View Post
Gulp
I think your file is now corrupt.
I had this message once and could not recover
Oh my god Ted Nugent is going to shoot me now the song was about him!!! Aargh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2011, 08:46 AM
martinaston martinaston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 179
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
Create a new session and try to import everything from the old.
Hmm good thinkin batman cheers I'll try that
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2011, 08:47 AM
martinaston martinaston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 179
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Check your backup folder.
Bend me over and kick me up the bottom, I DISABLED IT IN PREFS, AAAARGH
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2011, 04:09 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinaston View Post
Bend me over and kick me up the bottom, I DISABLED IT IN PREFS, AAAARGH
Don't do that.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2011, 05:13 PM
fakir_cz fakir_cz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 226
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinaston View Post
Bend me over and kick me up the bottom, I DISABLED IT IN PREFS, AAAARGH
Yep, this situation is one from the EPIC FAIL category.

Do you have Time Machine running in the background?
__________________
BcA. Tomas Vitha
Sound Designer and Mixer

2010 Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, OS X 10.6.6, PT HD 9.0.3, Mbox 2 Pro, C|24
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-28-2011, 06:04 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: Magic ID does not match

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Don't do that.
+1
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magic ID does not match.... ziggypop1111 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 06-05-2015 12:46 AM
Magic ID does not match shea Pro Tools 10 6 10-10-2013 04:56 PM
SOMEBODY HELP ME!!!! 'Magic id doesn't match' DW7000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-17-2009 09:56 PM
Magic ID does not match oigresbg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-25-2009 01:45 PM
Magic ID does not match ???? Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 42 01-18-2006 01:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com