Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2012, 11:54 AM
ThunderShepherd ThunderShepherd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized - 1394 off

so, i've had a 002r for years now. I had it modded by BLA to the signature series and everything has been awesome.

then the other day i was in a session (9.0.6) and there was a hissing noise and everything froze. suddenly the 002 wasn't being recognized. i tried powering down and restarting. the 1394 light is off and it wouldn't recognize the hardware. the 002 wasn't even being recognized on my PC in disk management. after a couple on and offs, i gets back up and running... for about 20 minutes before it craps out again in the same fashion. this time it states the clock in screwy. after this i wasn't able to get it back up and running for days.

i uninstall/reinstall FW drivers, uninstall/reinstall PT9 to 9.0.5 and i'm good again... for about a day before it goes out again.

my 002r is serial ends in a G and the BLA mod has a souped up power supply so i don't know what it could be.

i should mention the only things different about the first day it went out was that the power went out earlier in the day (while on was on the computer, not on PT and not while the 002r was on), and that windows updated the night before.


any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:22 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,390
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized

I don't know if Black Lion actually replaces the PS harness. You might look into this.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2012, 03:40 PM
ThunderShepherd ThunderShepherd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized

i thought the power harness was only for A-F?

even then, I tried reseating it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:43 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,305
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized

Where did the hissing come from? The speakers or the unit? If you heard hissing from the 002 itself, that could have been a component frying. A power failure/surge can damage electronics(I fried a firewire drive and a PC from that). Now all my PC's are fed from APC UPS units. Could be the best $130-200 you ever spend
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:23 PM
ThunderShepherd ThunderShepherd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized

no, the hissing was audio from the headphones i was using.

i just tried cleaning and reseating the power harness, but still no dice. i'm starting to freak out. this just happened out of the blue
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:25 PM
ThunderShepherd ThunderShepherd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized

i should also note that the unit does power on just fine. i get the normal three clicks, my sample rate light is on, the mute light is on, the link light on the back is on, but not the 1394 light. at one point when i had it working (for the 20 or so minutes) when it failed, the sample rate light and 1394 light started blinking.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:13 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default

Swap cables (fw) and I wouldn't know but doesn't that seem like the fw board?

Or since the link led is ok it's probably fine???


What about the device manager? What does that look like?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2012, 10:13 PM
ThunderShepherd ThunderShepherd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized - 1394 off

the 002 9 times out of 10 will not show up in the device manager/device and printers screen.

today i checked the 002 on multiple other computers and it's just as bad on them as well. looks like the FW port on the 002 is shot. time to ship it off to Black Lion
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2012, 11:50 AM
fabian.c.m fabian.c.m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized - 1394 off

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderShepherd View Post
the 002 9 times out of 10 will not show up in the device manager/device and printers screen.

today i checked the 002 on multiple other computers and it's just as bad on them as well. looks like the FW port on the 002 is shot. time to ship it off to Black Lion

I'm having a very similar problem where Win7 is not recognizing my 002r. I originally thought that this might be a firewire port issue, so i sent back to Black Lion for repairs. They found nothing wrong with it at their site. It was mentioned in this forum that if the 1394 light on the back of the 002 is working then the port is probably not the issue.

When I got the unit back, I was able to get PT9 back up and running with a complete reinstall of Win7. This was last weekend but last night it was back to square one where the 002 is no longer recognized

Next up I'm going to try the Microsoft hotfixes listed in the DUC tech sticky:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426


http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=k...1613&x=10&y=14

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/981613

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/975500
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2012, 12:08 PM
dubpimpjuice dubpimpjuice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Singer Island, FL
Posts: 130
Default Re: 002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized - 1394 off

Post a Sandra- there may be other forces at work here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blinking 1394 light on 002r Punch Drunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-16-2010 02:13 AM
002R firewire problem ... 1394 only on 1 sec HELP john1192 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-28-2007 09:43 AM
Help! 002 1394 led no longer lit and not recognized Timusic07 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-05-2007 01:50 PM
Dead 002r? 1394 light not comming on. Spyrojoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-16-2007 04:12 PM
is your 002r 1394 Light Blinking? Read this... gibson_sg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-20-2005 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com