Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2018, 04:45 AM
PierrevC PierrevC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 58
Default No audio in frozen tracks after export selected tracks to new session

Hi,

Having an issue with frozen reverb track with TC VSS.

When I "export > selected tracks to new session" the frozen track has the regions but they are "offline".
They are also not included when I look in the Workspace.
No file copy, only linking, session is in the same folder as original...

When I include the audio files in the export the rendered files get copied and session is as expected I can even drag it to the original folder and it links back to the originals as well.

PT2018.10 hdx

Is this a known bug?

Thanks,
Pierre
__________________
__________________
iSeeSound.be | Audio Post Production
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2018, 10:36 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,874
Default Re: No audio in frozen tracks after export selected tracks to new session

I look at track freeze as a VERY temporary tool and never use it if the session is going to leave my rig. Better to use Track Commit. Also, if you use Melodyne, you need to commit that as well if the tracks are going anywhere else. I know Melodyne is SUPPOSED to store audio within the session folder, every time I copy a session to another system, it never travels well
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2018, 10:39 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,874
Default Re: No audio in frozen tracks after export selected tracks to new session

Don't export frozen tracks. Use Track Commit for anything that is going to go to another system, or going to be archived. Track Freeze is temporary(for me)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2018, 11:23 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,963
Default Re: No audio in frozen tracks after export selected tracks to new session

I agree with Dave. Freeze is for freeing up CPU, loading the session more quickly, and ensuring consistent playback of certain VIs while you continue building the session. As soon as you're sure you're happy with a track, unfreeze it and commit.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2018, 03:33 PM
PierrevC PierrevC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 58
Default Re: No audio in frozen tracks after export selected tracks to new session

Thanks for the insight, but everyone has his workflow right.

It should work. I use it to take a session to a post studio that hasn't got a plugin. Don't want my session to be messed up with commit tracks all over the place.
I should be able to freeze the track send the session anywhere I want, coming back unfreeze and done... Less error prone.
On top of that the render files are separate from the audio files.
So I trash the Render Files folder and I'm ready for backup.

If anyone else could reproduce, we can take out that bug.

Thx,
Pierre
__________________
__________________
iSeeSound.be | Audio Post Production
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Export selected tracks as new session PROBLEM Prog Musike Productions Tips & Tricks 0 06-01-2017 10:49 AM
Export selected tracks as new session not working? crizdee Pro Tools 10 1 07-29-2015 12:12 AM
Export selected tracks as new session - all audio? Schottlandru Pro Tools 10 3 06-05-2013 08:17 AM
export selected tracks as new session? FilterDecay Pro Tools 10 6 11-21-2011 01:11 PM
Export Selected Tracks as New Session PT 7-9 Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 10 3 11-17-2011 02:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com