Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2017, 07:43 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default System Check

As I've now landed 3 documentary scoring jobs, I want to be sure my system is what it needs to be (or at least adequate to the task). I'm running Win-10 Pro, 24gig Ram, Intel i7 920@2.67GHz Sandra report below. Is there anything I need to consider upgrading or improving on this system. I won't be getting a new system anytime soon, so this is what I need to work with. However, I can make some upgrades if they're possible to do. Appreciate any thoughts, insights.

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Motif2
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : Dell Studio XPS 435T/9000
Serial Number : GZK****
Chassis : Dell Desktop
Mainboard : Dell 0X501H
Serial Number : ..CN6970*********
BIOS : Dell A15 02/04/2010
Total Memory : 24GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (4C 8T 2.8GHz/2.93GHz, 2.13GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1366

Chipset
Memory Controller : Dell X58 I/O Hub 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Memory Controller : Intel Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz), 3x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1GHz 192-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Dell Computer DELL ST2410
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Monitor/Panel : Dell Computer DELL ST2410
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 240 (14CU 112SP SM4.0 1.62GHz, 1GB DDR3 2.2GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 240 (14CU 112SP SM4.0 1.62GHz, 1GB DDR3 2.2GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 240 (112SP 14C 1.62GHz, 1GB DDR3 2.2GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 240 (112SP 14C 1.62GHz, 1GB DDR3 2.2GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:)
Seagate ST3750528AS (750.2GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 699GB (D:)
WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (E:)
WDC WD5000AAKS-75V0A0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (G:)
WDC WD40EZRZ-00WN9B0 (4TB, USB3/SATA600, 3.5", 5400rpm) : 4TB (I:)
WDC WD1003FZEX-00RLFA0 (1TB, USB3/SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (H:)
CodeMeter-Stick (41.2MB, USB1/NVMe) : 39MB (N:)
PLDS DVD+/-RW DH-16AAS (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (M:)

Logical Storage Devices
RECOVERY : 11GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
DATAPART1 (D:) : 699GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST3750528AS (750.2GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
1tb (E:) : 932GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Motif Backup (I:) : 4TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD40EZRZ-00WN9B0 (4TB, USB3/SATA600, 3.5", 5400rpm)
New Volume (H:) : 932GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1003FZEX-00RLFA0 (1TB, USB3/SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
CODEMETER (N:) : 39MB (FAT32, 512bytes) @ CodeMeter-Stick (41.2MB, USB1/NVMe)
OS (C:) : 921GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 (1TB, SATA300/600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
500gb (G:) : 466GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-75V0A0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (Q:) : N/A
Optical Drive (M:) : N/A @ PLDS DVD+/-RW DH-16AAS (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : Dell HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 888 High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : Dell 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Dell JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Dell USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Dell USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Dell USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Dell USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Dell USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Dell USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Dell USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Dell USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell IEEE 1394 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Officejet Pro 8600 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Officejet Pro 8600 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Fax - HP Officejet Pro 8600 (200x200, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Hewlett-Packard HP Officejet Pro 8600 (NET) (Scanner, USB)

Peripherals
Media Player : ASMT 2105 (931.51GB)
Media Player : WIBU - CodeMeter-Stick (38.57MB)
Media Player : WD My Book 1235 (3.64TB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : NETGEAR WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 USB Adapter (802.11n (HT), AES-CCMP, 65Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 10.00.15063
Platform Compliance : x64

Performance Enhancing Tips
Warning 2513 : TPM not detected. Some security features are unavailable.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2017, 08:12 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: System Check

How are you planing to do video playback?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2017, 02:23 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: System Check

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
How are you planing to do video playback?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'm not sure what you're asking me. Do you mean playing the video while in Pro Tools?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2017, 02:33 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: System Check

Which video peripheral will you use to display your video with? Or are you planning to use desktop video?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2017, 10:06 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,369
Default Re: System Check

If your motherboard works with an i7-920, you should be able to swap out the i7-920 for a i7-980X or i7-990X. I'd suggest contacting Dell directly to see if this would be appropriate. Relatively cheap/easy upgrade. Hope this helps !!!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2017, 12:53 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,871
Default Re: System Check

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
If your motherboard works with an i7-920, you should be able to swap out the i7-920 for a i7-980X or i7-990X. I'd suggest contacting Dell directly to see if this would be appropriate. Relatively cheap/easy upgrade. Hope this helps !!!
Was also going to suggest a 980X(I did this swap on my X58A system from a 950 and it was a simple "drop in and reboot" upgrade), but in addition to EGS' recommendation, you may need to update the BIOS. I would also swap for a good SSD for the C: drive(going from a spinner to a Samsung 850 EVO made a big improvement in performance for me). My socket 1366 rig also ran much better with 48GB of G. Skill Ripsaw RAM over the 12GB of Corsair that was in it, but your 24GB should be plenty(I needed to run at a 64 buffer for tracking bands).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2017, 01:09 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: System Check

Thanks, Dave. I'll get the SSD eventually. But I can't do it all at once. Will definitely check out these CPU upgrades. I talked with a tech guy I go to, and he's pretty sure I won't need to worry about BIOS. But worth double checking on that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2017, 01:37 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,369
Default Re: System Check

I'd double-check with a tech at Dell about this CPU swap idea (and bios?) ... but I bet it'll work. It would be a pretty cool upgrade !!!

https://browser.geekbench.com/geekbe...aseline=673743
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo

Last edited by EGS; 04-28-2017 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2017, 08:37 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: System Check

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Which video peripheral will you use to display your video with? Or are you planning to use desktop video?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I have a dual monitor system with 2 22" monitors. With PT I use one screen for edit window, one for mix. When I do video, it just overlays on top and I move it wherever I want it, resize it, etc. Eventually, I want to get a 3rd monitor just for the video, probably and actual video screen with HDMI connection. But to do that, i'm going to need to upgrade my Video card as the one I have only has 2 outputs. I'm looking at something like the Ge-Force 1070, which has multiple outputs. And, if I understand it correctly, the video can be handled by its GPU, freeing up resources in the CPU for PT. At least that how it was explained to me. I hope that's right.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-28-2017, 08:38 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: System Check

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
I'd double-check with a tech at Dell about this CPU swap idea (and bios?) ... but I bet it'll work. It would be a pretty cool upgrade !!!

https://browser.geekbench.com/geekbe...aseline=673743
Yeah, I'm going to look into all this next week. What's a good source for buying CPU like this? I haven't looked into that yet.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandra Report System Check Compatibility for Windows 7 joshphb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-18-2013 04:59 PM
System Info check 4times4mil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-10-2008 08:59 PM
2gb,check! firewire audio drive,check! samples.... bump!! MarkusB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2007 02:25 AM
system check fredsparky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-07-2004 03:48 PM
Check Soundbroker for my HD3 system Lowdbrent Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-13-2003 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com