Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2009, 12:39 PM
lowlights lowlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 309
Default Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

Running PT LE 8.0.1 with Digi 003. Have approved Siig firewire card.

Building my "dream machine" ($1,000 budget) and after visits to this forum, here's what me and a smarter than me guy came up with.

Would you serious hardware guys let me know if you see any trouble with this?

[FOR OS] Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM
Model #:WD5000AAKS

[FOR AUDIO] Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM
Model #:WD5001AALS

Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 - Retail

GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Model #:GA-EX58-UD3R

OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1600LV6GK - Retail
Model #:OCZ3G1600LV6GK

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders w/ Tech Guarantee - OEM [FREE UPGRADE TO WINDOWS 7]
Model #:66I-03525

COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Model #:RC-690-KKN1-GP

XFX HD-435X-YAH2 Radeon HD 4350 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Low Profile Ready Video ... - Retail

OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS 600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready Active PFC Power Supply - Retail

LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE Model GH22NP20 - OEM
Model #:GH22NP20

Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
Model #:AS5-3.5G
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2009, 01:45 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,852
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

Looks good but for one thing. No 64 bit OS is yet supported. Vista Ultimate 32bit or XP 32 bit are your OS choices. Also, when you start building, DO NOT install all the crap that comes on the GigaByte disk. Only install the drivers for network and audio. And you will need to manually set your RAM timings in BIOS as the Auto setting will work like crap. Also make sure your BIOS version is F4(or newer). F2 made my rig run like a Celeron but F4 works great.(I haven't updated because; if it ain't broke......).

Re. the WD drives, look at pricing and sales as I think the 640gig black is on sale. Saving $5-10 on the Blue version just doesn't make a lot of sense to me(I have both drives on my system). If you can get a good deal on the Black, just buy all Black. Just my 2 cents worth. I would think about partitioning the system drive in half and using the other half for saving drive images and backups of important stuff. I would also get(maybe recycle drives from an older system) an external drive case(USB is okay for this) and keep your sessions backed up to the external drive. If you need to recover, you would not actually run from the USB drive, but you can copy a session back onto an audio drive. I guess that makes 4 cents worth
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2009, 02:29 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,461
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

Albee has said all good things, +1 on them.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2009, 07:39 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

+2 on albee
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:01 AM
LincolnT LincolnT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 345
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

Wow, that hardware looks great compared to mine. I'm glad the price of computers is coming down. I did not realize that could be gotten for under $1,000.

Some people like XP better than Vista. But if Vista gives you a free upgrade to Windows 7, I'd get vista. Then when Windows 7 comes out, I'd triple boot with Vista 32 bit, Win7 32 bit, and Win7 64 bit. Although Vista 32 bit is the Digi approved operating system, I have had good success with Win7 32 bit. And it wouldn't hurt to use your Win7 64 bit partition for experimenting or for future compatibility.

Also, you might want to buy Acronis True Image Home or Norton Ghost so you can make working images of your Pro Tools operating system in case settings get messed up. You can restore the perfect config in 5 minutes if you have a good image.

A partition editor like Acronis Disk Director Suite might also be handy.
__________________
MBox 2 Pro connected to motherboard 4 pin firewire port
Dell Inspiron 9300 laptop
2.0 gHz Pentium M
2 gB ram
Lacie Rugged 5400 rpm firewire 800 on Siig Cardbus adapter
Roland 700SX stage piano
Studio Projects C3 mics
Melodyne Plugin
Dual Boot:
PTLE 8.0.1 on Windows 7 Enterprise 32 bit
PTLE 8.0.1 on XP Media Center SP3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:38 AM
lowlights lowlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 309
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

One question comes up in my mind - noting Albee's configuration with 6 GB as I was considering.

a 32-bit OS is only gonna recognize 3.5-3.7 GB of RAM maximum. And I believe I heard that triple channel DDR3 memory likes to see 3 of the 4 slots used on a motherboard, rather than 4.

So should I just back it down to 4 GB of RAM, or 3 GB of RAM? - 1 GB in each slot, or 2 GB in one slot and 1 GB in the other two, and leave the rest for "some day" when Pro Tools LE recognizes 64-bit OS?

What's the advantage I guess I'm asking to going 6 GB for me - if my Digi-approved OS doesn't see it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:51 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,461
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

4GB is optimal for installed RAM with a 32bit OS. Even though the OS recognizes somewhat less, the system still takes advantage of it. In a triple channel (DDR3) system to have 4GB you need to install 6GB. This will allow the 3GB switch and PT will access about 2.7GB of RAM.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2009, 09:22 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 250
Thumbs up Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
And you will need to manually set your RAM timings in BIOS as the Auto setting will work like crap.
Hi albee1952,
I have Ex58-Extreme and i7 975 extreme and 6GB RAM OCZ gold. and I already have done all what you have recommend (nothing installed from GIGABYTE just the network cards / no sound driver installed /only 002R for sure )
Can you please tell me / (or even give me a hint) how I can set the RAM timings in BIOS. and how this could effect my PC performance / Audio recording etc ....

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2009, 10:00 AM
lowlights lowlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 309
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

One last thing - I get the weird 6 GB installed in tri-channel to get 4 GB on the MOBO out of a 32-bit OS (and Albee explained via email the value of "future-proofing" since PT might upgrade their defined requirements to include 64-bit).

But single channel, dual channel and tri-channel memory?

According to this report - the differences are minimal to various programs with the i7 chip.

Should I go dual channel and save a few bucks? Anyone have experience with this?

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...,2057-13.html#

WOW - this process is excruciating!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2009, 10:05 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 250
Default Re: Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhafaji View Post
Hi albee1952,
I have Ex58-Extreme and i7 975 extreme and 6GB RAM OCZ gold. and I already have done all what you have recommend (nothing installed from GIGABYTE just the network cards / no sound driver installed /only 002R for sure )
Can you please tell me / (or even give me a hint) how I can set the RAM timings in BIOS. and how this could effect my PC performance / Audio recording etc ....

Thanks
any help will be appreciated
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New i7 Six-Core Build; Eyes Please? lowlights Windows 31 10-30-2012 03:58 PM
Hello Old Dudes! IntelDoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 10-27-2005 01:08 PM
Fresh install of 6.1.....can't find hardware 002R. Aoede 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-16-2005 10:55 AM
Dudes... lemix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-08-2003 04:46 PM
DUDES I'm selling my 001! smit1_uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-21-2002 12:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com