Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-26-2022, 12:01 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,628
Default Re: Honest interface question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
All I meant is if you have two RME interface connected to a computer, you get two separate instances of TotalMix. Works great, but there is no signal path between those TotalMix environments. You can't route a signal between them in the computer, if you want to do that you need to make a physical connection between each interface.

I suspected that’s what you meant, but was confused as I thought we were talking about one RME interface as opposed to two running in tandem.

BTW, it would be an either or for me. Either the UFX+ with my converters and monitor controller or the Digiface with the same converters and monitor controller plus some 8ch I/O expansion.

Thanks for the clarification. Thought I’d totally missed something as it’s been a little while since I used Totalmix.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old Today, 03:59 PM
Skytouch Skytouch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 120
Default Re: Honest interface question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
Yeah, pro tools and zoom has been a pain for me. Luckily, most of my online sessions are with Logic but PT has been the DAW of my choice for a long time now. It’s just annoying that I can’t easily share my audio with my zoom clients. I read some crazy way of getting it to work on a site a while ago but there’s just too many steps involved. That’s probably one of the more important reasons I was looking to dump the 192. There really are a lot of choices for interfaces out there. I’d like a rack mounted interface with all connections in the back and won’t cost an arm and a leg. Unfortunately the Presonus inputs looks like they are in the front.
Avid Omni HD PCIe user here. After testing BC Connector and Source Nexus to bridge Pro Tools to the outside world, I've switched to Cubase 9.5 for Zoom sessions. BC Connector works but adds some latency and more software to configure. In Cubase I've created a very simple mixer with a few plugins for voice and stream processing - this integrates well with Loopback, Audio Hijack and Zoom directly.

Sky
__________________
(Opinions are my own, etc.)

Mac Pro 6-Core 3.33, 24 GB RAM, AVID HD Native, Omni I/O, Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4, OSX 10.13.6.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old Today, 04:06 PM
Skytouch Skytouch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 120
Default Re: Honest interface question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Glad it's not just me in love with RME stuff. Super glad I stumbled across the Fireface UFX+ (I needed a MADI connection). Just love the quality of their drivers.
Hi Darryl, For generally small sessions not needing MADI, do you see any advantages to USB3/TB2 versus USB2 still being used in UFX II and UCX II? Buying a USB2 interface in 2022 gives me pause, despite consensus that RME USB2 drivers are still better and faster than some TB3 alternatives. One recent thread advised skipping UFX II and going UFX+ for a few hundred more. The UCX II is currently on my short list.

Thanks,
Sky
__________________
(Opinions are my own, etc.)

Mac Pro 6-Core 3.33, 24 GB RAM, AVID HD Native, Omni I/O, Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4, OSX 10.13.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need your HONEST HONEST opinion on my mixing. elisharichards Pro Tools 10 5 12-24-2012 04:54 PM
an honest question to David Sumich/Digi: pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-04-2002 05:18 PM
HONEST question: do your ProTools freeze often? Dag Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 8 09-05-2002 04:03 PM
serious question, be honest kill or be killed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-08-2002 11:47 PM
SDII/Digital Interface/Analog Interface Question Karmitz Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-15-2000 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com