Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2022, 11:48 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 926
Default MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

Some time between Christmas Eve and today output channel 9 on my MTRX Studio has started doing this:

(sign in to preview)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uci9ehcmvy...l%209.wav?dl=0

I've spent the better half of a day trying to get my head around it, now I'm starting to think it's a hardware fault? Looking for confirmation from someone more intelligent than I am. All the other channels on the same DB25 snake are working fine and I've confirmed that it isn't the snake itself *same issue if I swap the DB25 snakes out.

It won't pass audio, it just outputs this noise.

Any help or advice is appreciated, thanks!
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.12|Ultimate • MTRX Studio • HDX1 • Sync-X • S3 • Dock • Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2GHz i7 6-core macOS 11.6 • RAM 64GB DDR4 GPU AMD 6900XT 16GB • Monitor LG 32UL950-W

Last edited by TrentWilliams; 01-25-2022 at 12:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2022, 05:51 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

Greetings,

Short of starting a support case ->
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Case-Creation

...I would perhaps try the following ->

Settings > Device List > IP > Restore Defaults. Ensure that your unit is on current firmware which is 1.0.3.2 under - cpufw.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2022, 05:53 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

Sounds pretty gnarly. Almost like vinyl crackle being played through a speaker.

Would a factory reset help? Perhaps something strange is happening in the internal routing. Just got to hold the reconfig button on the back down for 10 seconds while the unit is powered on. It resets everything but the IP configuration.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX2. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Mastering Suite 3.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2022, 09:51 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 926
Default Re: MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Greetings,

...I would perhaps try the following ->

Settings > Device List > IP > Restore Defaults. Ensure that your unit is on current firmware which is 1.0.3.2 under - cpufw.

best,
Jeff
Thanks Jeff,

Just tried this. Nothing. Still cooked. It’s definitely a hardware fault, I started a support request earlier, Avid has just replied citing the whole unit needs to be replaced. Which is hard because I live in New Zealand and I bought it refurbished from Sweetwater, so it’s not covered under Avid’s limited warranty. Smh. Serves me right for trying to save a few dollars I guess, haha!

Thanks for your help,
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.12|Ultimate • MTRX Studio • HDX1 • Sync-X • S3 • Dock • Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2GHz i7 6-core macOS 11.6 • RAM 64GB DDR4 GPU AMD 6900XT 16GB • Monitor LG 32UL950-W

Last edited by TrentWilliams; 01-25-2022 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2022, 05:50 PM
Matt82au Matt82au is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 307
Default Re: MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

I had the same issue, lost multiple channels on the second DA. Unit was replaced. Hope it is not a common issue as the downtime was painful
__________________
Matt Perrott
Sound Designer and Engineer
Sydney, Australia
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2022, 08:12 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,876
Default Re: MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

Had to have a MTRX Studio unit swapped out mid-last year too. Analogue channels stopped. I thought this was a fluke but now I'm worried about our other MTRX Studio units where the DA isn't being used (but could in the future and that'd be a bad surprise.)

Never had a problem with any full-size MTRX units (or the cards) of many, many units.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.4, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • S1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2022, 08:14 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,876
Default Re: MTRX Studio - is this output channel cooked?

For people who have issues, mind posting the serial numbers of the faulty units? I'll pull up the one we had to swap out and post it tomorrow in this thread.

Wondering if there was a bad batch.
(Kind of hoping so because that would mean our newer ones are fine)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.4, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • S1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between MTRX and MTRX Studio? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 3 02-10-2022 11:38 AM
MTRX Studio - Output fine, no input now Matt Stephanson Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 15 08-28-2021 07:59 AM
MTRX Studio tuning v MTRX SQP card Goombot Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 9 07-15-2021 11:00 AM
MTRX Studio Output Analog Level Specs Discrepancy Picture Start Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 2 07-01-2021 09:03 AM
MTRX 8-channel card not showing in Pro Tools SomeOtherGuy Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 4 01-23-2020 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com