Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2024, 02:58 PM
richard clements richard clements is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: calgary
Posts: 2
Default Audio Dropping Out from select tracks

Hello,

I have protools 2018.4.0 running on macOS Sierra 10.12.6.

I have been using this program since 2018 with no issues, but for some reason now an issue has popped up.

The Audio in two tracks keeps "disappearing" in different ways. It seems to be a timed based thing because if i am constantly using the program it doesn't happen, only when i step away from the program for a little bit.

My Piano track, which is comprised of numerous separate tracks all bussed through a single Aux input, shows volume levels on the individuals buss tracks in the mix window, but no volume levels on the Aux track.

The Vocal although showing waves in the edit section, shows no levels in the mix window. It is only affecting these two tracks. I have turned off all automation, turning on and off the inputs, switching back and forth between busses, but the only thing that works is closing down the session entirely. When that happens i can hear both tracks again, and the vocal tracks is showing a readable signal.

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2024, 05:19 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 3,002
Default Re: Audio Dropping Out from select tracks

Hi friend !

You can try doing a reset of the Inserts, busses, In and Outs in the PT IO menu. Sometimes this fixes some routing issues.
__________________
Mac M1 Studio Ultra - Sonoma Beta OS
Avid Carbon Interface
Protools Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2024, 11:46 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,350
Default Re: Audio Dropping Out from select tracks

Hi welcome to DUC.

This is also a classic sign of a plugin license in demo mode where some plugins will just cut out audio after some time. You can check by disabling or removing plugins in the affected audio path. Carefully check all your plugin licenses, including if you or any plugin vendor (mis)management crapware have upgraded plugins beyond your licensed version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2024, 08:50 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,373
Default Re: Audio Dropping Out from select tracks

OP cross-posted on Gearspace - I answered him there with the same advice a few days ago; he traced it down to an Arturia plug.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
Mac Studio / Ventura, PT 2023.12.HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock
Also running a Mac Studio Ultra / Ventura / HDX / MTRX / S6

Last edited by Rich Breen; 02-19-2024 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2024, 09:37 AM
richard clements richard clements is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: calgary
Posts: 2
Default Re: Audio Dropping Out from select tracks

I did pin it down to a single plug in, the Arturia v76. The issue is is that I own it, and have always owned it. I hadn't changed a single thing in my system, which was working perfectly since 2018. When I removed the plugin from the track, it was audible again, but when placed in the track, even disengaged, it was "muting" the track.

The only thing that fixed it was opening the Arturia software center and then closing it, which is strange because the plugin was already in my system. It's working now, and thanks for the help. Next time i'll try resetting the inserts etd. The stickler in me would like the know what actually happened to avoid it happening again, but it's working now. So that's fine....i guess :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2024, 10:10 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,350
Default Re: Audio Dropping Out from select tracks

The problem will likely just be with Arturia licensing, nothing to do with Pro Tools. You need to follow up with their support org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3.8 Dropping Tracks, Feedback kentuckyben macOS 1 04-26-2014 07:00 PM
Is there any way I can get 128 instrument tracks without dropping 2 grand?? Violet Pro Tools 9 10 10-18-2011 01:18 AM
Pro Tools dropping tracks at 96 khz friendlybunny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-08-2011 10:52 AM
bounced tracks not dropping in properly cali9dub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 09-17-2009 06:37 PM
tracks dropping out... terryd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-04-2005 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com