Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-15-2008, 12:02 PM

Default Newbie needs help on setup for long live recordings

I recently purchased an MBOX 2 and need advise on how to best set up Pro Tools for recording live conferences. I am completely new to all of this. I went with the MBOX 2 because I could also use it to record my kids guitar playing. And I figured it would work for my meetings. But I want to be sure I do everything right because I only have one chance when recording live. I will be running a conference in 2 weeks. We will have 20 presenters and will need to record 4 lectures a day/ one hour each. Only one 15 minute break during the 4 hours so I will need to run the recording continuosly for the 4 hours as I will not be able to monitor the recording and tend to the MBOX much. I will edit later and post the audio on my website.

Questions:
1- Will Pro Tools/ MBOX 2 handle 4 hours of continuous recording?
2- I will purchase whatever I need to make this happen. What specifications should I need for a computer (Windows)(laptop preferable for travel), external hard drive, etc. Please consider cost when making recommendations.
3- Do I have to configure any of the settings on ProTools to allow for such a long recording?

I work for a non-profit and we can not afford to have a professional do the recording for us so your assistance is appreciated.

Walter
Old 03-15-2008, 03:31 PM

Default Re: Newbie needs help on setup for long live recordings

I dont know exactly where to start. think about the setup of these lectures, how many people, what size room, what microphone are you planning on using and where to place it?