Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2007, 03:12 PM
Submersible Submersible is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
Default Searching in Import Audio Dialog

I was using the Import Audio function in PTHD 7.3.1 cs2 and for the first time, I noticed the search box at the top of the dialog box. I popped in the name of the track I was looking for, sorted the list by date, and viola! The search brought it up the track I was looking for in the file view and identified it as a WAV. Super handy.

However, I can't get the file to show up in the "convert" so I can finish the import. If I click on the file name, nothing happens. If I double click the file name, the import dialog disappears. What's going on? The search box is cool--but apparently not supported? Browsing to the file still works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2007, 04:59 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,581
Default Re: Searching in Import Audio Dialog

Yes. Crazy isn´t it? Since this feature has shown up (around 6.x) it has never worked. Allthough there´s a search function in the window you can neither audition nor import the files you have found.

Also because Digi asks you to turn off spotlight the search doesn´t work anyway if you follow digi´s requirements fully. So the whole feature is pointless.

Unfortunately, because the import-window is the only way to control the volume when auditioning a file.

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.7 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2007, 01:22 PM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default Re: Searching in Import Audio Dialog

Quote:
Unfortunately, because the import-window is the only way to control the volume when auditioning a file.

frank.
I thought so, too, but routing the audition path to a separate input of my (analogue) desk lets me control the volume just fine - and ever since I found that importing with workspace (and the great search functions it has to offer) is much easier and faster.

Martin
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I cant preview audio in digibase or import audio dialog. sammyfarr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-29-2007 01:16 AM
Small "import audio" dialog bug? thierryd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-10-2006 04:24 PM
Import Audio dialog , Can't select or play audio Irl Sanders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 10-04-2006 02:02 PM
5.1.1 Import Audio Dialog - another change? barden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-29-2001 02:35 PM
Import Audio dialog PROBLEM jimlongo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-12-2001 03:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com