Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2010, 01:51 PM
Mixer123 Mixer123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

is there somebody who knows a good and cheap hard drives that works with Pro Tools 8 LE and Mbox 2 Mini as a recording / playback disk



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:07 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,791
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

do you mean just to back up too? Or to record to/ play from? If you just want to back up, then a USB drive is fine and they are ultra portable. If you want to Record/Play from it and still have alot of portability then i would suggest a drive with E-Sata and USB hook ups, that way you will never have a problem taking your drive to a friends house and loading your sessions on to his/her pc/mac. At this point in time E-Sata is the best for external recording, with firewire being second, and USB not approved. Hopefully in the next year we will see Light Peak emerge and we can get rig of Firewire, USB and E-Sata and just have a single port/ cable type.

I would suggest Newegg, but being you are in Denmark im not sure how shipping would work out. How about eBay in your country? The Western Digital Mybook drives can be found with Firewire, Esata and USB hook ups, so you have a choice. Perhaps consider buying a internal hard drive and External E-Sata and USB case, that way you could get a nice WD Caviar Black drive with 32MB cache.

How much is cheap? $40? $50? $125?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:19 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixer123 View Post
is there somebody who knows a good and cheap hard drives that works with Pro Tools 8 LE and Mbox 2 Mini as a hiding place for projects.
Does your computer have an approved firewire port? How about an eSATA port? Is it a laptop or desktop? Do you have room for an internal drive? What do you mean by hiding place?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:25 PM
Mixer123 Mixer123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

i have a laptop
and i have no firewire in my laptop
and the hard drive is for recording / playback
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:27 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,791
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

what about E-Sata port? Do you have a second bay for a second internal drive?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:31 PM
Mixer123 Mixer123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

no, but I also have a desktop computer I can install PT on that
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:33 PM
Mixer123 Mixer123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

and I have firewire on the desktop computer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:38 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

On the desktop computer you can simply add an internal drive for sessions if the computer can handle Pro Tools.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:42 PM
Mixer123 Mixer123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

but what need the hard drive to run with Pro Tools 8 le
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:42 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,791
Default Re: Pro Tools le 8 / External Hard-drive

You may get away with recording small sessions to a USB drive, just know that its not supported and you will probably get error codes along the way. Its worth a shot if you MUST use PT on the laptop, if it doesnt work out, you can always use the USB drive for other things.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools will not save on my external hard drive chfmtm Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-26-2008 09:54 AM
best external hard drive for pro tools? emersonrailroad Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 02-08-2008 02:58 PM
external hard drive set up with Pro Tools fmbighair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-23-2006 02:26 PM
How to use an external hard drive with prot tools? sinnagod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-29-2004 03:35 PM
Help with External Hard Drive for Pro Tools!!! Humbubinc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-07-2004 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com