Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:59 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 250
Question thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory

Hi,
its maybe for some people here stupid question but I still need your opinion...
I am thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory
the questions :
1- Is 003 are far better than 002?
2- Is it worthy to upgrade from 002R to 003 Factory?
3- Is keeping my 002Rack and get Preamps is better choice?
4- is there any news about having 004 or something new from Digi?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2009, 06:10 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,128
Default Re: thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhafaji View Post
Hi,
its maybe for some people here stupid question but I still need your opinion...
I am thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory
the questions :
1- Is 003 are far better than 002?
2- Is it worthy to upgrade from 002R to 003 Factory?
3- Is keeping my 002Rack and get Preamps is better choice?
4- is there any news about having 004 or something new from Digi?

Thanks
1) Don't know if it's true buy I'v read that the converters in the 002 are made of low-grade ceramic capasitors and therefor noisy. The converters in the 003 are supposed to be mutch better.
2) Well if what I hear about the converters is correct I would think its worth upgrading to the 003
3) If the converters in the 002 is as bad as I read I think it would not help with a preamp.
4) No news

If they do make a 004, I hope they will use high end components all the way, and not save on anything.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,080
Default Re: thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory

1- Is 003 are far better than 002?
Yes, but the Black Lion mod to the 002 makes it better than the 003
2- Is it worthy to upgrade from 002R to 003 Factory?
If you mean the 003 rack, I don't think its worth the money. I also am not knocked out by the Factory plugins and would spend that extra money on some McDSP or Waves plugins, or IK Classik Verbs. The 003 controller has a lot of functionality on it(your choice if that matters).
3- Is keeping my 002Rack and get Preamps is better choice?
Better preamps are a wise choice with either 002 or 003. Look at Vintech, Grace, Great River or API, etc
4- is there any news about having 004 or something new from Digi?
No news yet and we likely won't hear any until a major NAMM or AES announcement(common for all the audio gear manufacturers). I don't expect a new piece for a couple more years(but that's just my guess).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2009, 05:57 PM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 250
Default Re: thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
1- Is 003 are far better than 002?
Yes, but the Black Lion mod to the 002 makes it better than the 003
2- Is it worthy to upgrade from 002R to 003 Factory?
If you mean the 003 rack, I don't think its worth the money. I also am not knocked out by the Factory plugins and would spend that extra money on some McDSP or Waves plugins, or IK Classik Verbs. The 003 controller has a lot of functionality on it(your choice if that matters).
3- Is keeping my 002Rack and get Preamps is better choice?
Better preamps are a wise choice with either 002 or 003. Look at Vintech, Grace, Great River or API, etc
4- is there any news about having 004 or something new from Digi?
No news yet and we likely won't hear any until a major NAMM or AES announcement(common for all the audio gear manufacturers). I don't expect a new piece for a couple more years(but that's just my guess).
Thank you albee1952.....
for me the BLA (Black Lion mod) will cost a lot (Black Lion mod + shipping)
I saw here in DUC some users have both 002 & RME FF800 and they sync it togather ... (using FF800 as interface for the 002) , what do you think?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2009, 03:58 AM
gvees gvees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Schiedam, Netherlands
Posts: 193
Default Re: thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory

If you get the BLA mod you wouldn't need (desparately) expensive preamps since the ones in the 002R are awesome (after the mod/upgrade)..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2009, 07:50 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,080
Default Re: thinking to move from 002 Rack to 003 Factory

As gvees said, the mod is money well spent IF the stock preamps are as many as you need(the mod is near the same price as a nice preamp or two). I hear great stuff about the RME gear and anything that comes in on lightpipe may be good for 8 more channels.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of upgrading laptop to use 003 Factory drummonkey50 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-06-2010 10:53 AM
Major comp. problem - considering reverting to 002 rack instead 003 rack, good move? Tbassist4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-15-2009 04:20 PM
Thinking about 003 rack...Factory plugin quality? emmanuelle2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-02-2007 02:35 AM
Thinking of 003 rack...Factory plugin quality? emmanuelle2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-02-2007 01:26 AM
Thinking about making a move... steelronkeel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-09-2004 06:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com