Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2009, 12:25 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Unhappy 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

Hey thanks to anyone reading this,

I can get about 10+ plug-ins or 20+ tracks until I get a hardcore buffering issue..

and then I mixed all drums down to one Audio file, all leads to one audio file, pack the master with compressors and I get DAE errors saying it cant get data fast enough..

I have PTLE 8 running on my internal Western Digital 500gb with the PTLE 8 sessions all saving on a Firewire 800 (I hope its running 800) Western Digital My Book Studio 500gb. I have a powerful system.. anybody see whats wrong? I'm configured my system settings, AND my PT settings,... It runs, but it bogs down.. I only have the USB Icon, my internet con and the clock in my bar, nothing elser running.. whats up??

SPECS in my signature... DIGI official member please respond!!
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2009, 12:56 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

This is my Sandra report.. please help!




***** Start of Report *****
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<<< Server Status >>>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Name: SiSoftware Sandra Lite [UnRegistered] (Win32
x86)
Version: 2008.1.13.12
Copyright: Copyright © SiSoftware Ltd 1995-2007. All
Rights Reserved.
Registered Owner: User
Licence Status: Evaluation copy, strictly for personal/
educational use only. For business/commercial
use, it can be trialled for 21 days.
Licence Extra: You are on day %i of your evaluation period.
Please see the SiSoftware site (http://
www.sisoftware.co.uk) for purchase details.
URL: http://www.sisoftware.net/sandra/
E-Mail: sandra.soft@sisoftware.net
User: User
Host Name: USER-PC
System ID: {6381CDA7-2693-42a5-89A3-528658CEE12C}
Run ID: {16FD3A32-A2FF-4b4f-AF2E-5655595CD05B}
Date: Friday, June 19, 2009 @ 2:31:10 PM

<<< Report Comments >>>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comments on report: For Pro Tools 8 configuration

<<< Computer Overview >>>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< System >
Host Name: USER-PC
User: User
Workgroup: WORKGROUP

< Processor >
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9650 @
3.00GHz
Speed: 3GHz
Cores per Processor: 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 1 Unit(s)
Type: Quad-Core
Internal Data Cache: 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way,
Inclusive, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache: 2x 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 24-way,
Inclusive, 64 byte line size, 2 threads
sharing

< System >
System: System manufacturer P5K SE
Mainboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5K SE
Bus(es): ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support: 1 Processor(s)
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (:Yes
System BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 8.12
Total Memory: 3.00GB DDR3

< Chipset 1 >
Model: ASUS (Bearlake) Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed: 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)
Total Memory: 2GB DDR3
Memory Bus Speed: 2x 400MHz (800MHz)

< Video System >
Monitor/Panel: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor/Panel: Generic PnP Monitor
Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series

< Physical Storage Devices >
WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 3.5" 500:465.76GB (C:)
Iomega 5DLAT80 250GB (FireWire:232.89GB (E:)
WD My Book 500GB (FireWire/139:465.76GB (F:)
HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 (ATA:N/A (D:)

< Logical Storage Devices >
Hard Disk (C:): 465.76GB (340.79GB, 73% Free Space) (NTFS) @
WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 3.5" 500GB (SATA300,
7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
CD-ROM/DVD (D:): N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 (ATAPI66, 48x
CD-R, 48x CD-W, 6x DVD-R, 6x DVD-W, 2MB Cache,
192kB Flash)
3.5" 1.44MB (A:): N/A @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 3.5" 500GB
(SATA300, 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Library (E:): 232.88GB (219.48GB, 94% Free Space) (NTFS) @
Iomega 5DLAT80 250GB (FireWire/1394, NCQ)
My Book (F:): 465.76GB (463.71GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS) @
WD My Book 500GB (FireWire/1394, NCQ)

< Peripherals >
Serial/Parallel Port(s): 1 COM / 0 LPT
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host
Controller - 2934
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host
Controller - 2935
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host
Controller - 2936
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host
Controller - 2937
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host
Controller - 2938
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host
Controller - 2939
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host
Controller - 293A
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host
Controller - 293C
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub: Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub: USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub: Digidesign Mbox 2 Firmware Updater
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub: Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394
Host Controller
Keyboard: Standard PS/2 Keyboard
Keyboard: HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard: HID Keyboard Device
Mouse: HID-compliant mouse
Mouse: HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface: HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface: HID-compliant device
Human Interface: HID-compliant device
Human Interface: HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface: HID-compliant device
Human Interface: HID-compliant device
Human Interface: HID-compliant device
Human Interface: USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface: USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface: USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface: USB Human Interface Device

< Printers and Faxes >
Model: Microsoft XPS Document Writer

< Power Management >
Mains (AC) Line Status: On-Line

< Operating System(s) >
Windows System: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Media Center
6.00.6002 (Service Pack 2)
Platform Compliance: Win32 x86

< Windows Experience Index >
Current System: 5.9

< Network Services >
Adapter: Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T
Controller

< Performance Tips >
Tip 2546: Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2: Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip
is selected for more information about the
tip.

<<< Processor Arithmetic >>>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< Benchmark Results >
Dhrystone ALU: 51360MIPS
Whetstone iSSE3: 41822MFLOPS
Results Interpretation: Higher index values are better.

< Windows Experience Index >
Current Processor(s): 5.9
Results Interpretation: Higher index values are better.

< Performance vs. Speed >
Dhrystone ALU: 17.12MIPS/MHz
Whetstone iSSE3: 13.94MFLOPS/MHz
Results Interpretation: Higher index values are better.

< Performance Test Status >
Run ID: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9650 @
3.00GHz (Quad-Core, 3GHz, 2x 6MB L2, 1.33GHz
FSB)
Platform Compliance: Win32 x86
NUMA Support: No
SMP (Multi-Processor) Benchmar:No
Total Test Threads: 4
Multi-Core Test: Yes
Cores per Processor: 4
SMT (Multi-Threaded) Benchmark:No
Processor Affinity: P0C0T0 P0C1T0 P0C2T0 P0C3T0
System Timer: 14.32MHz
Number of Runs: 64000 / 640

< Processor >
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9650 @
3.00GHz
Speed: 3GHz
Cores per Processor: 4 Unit(s)
Type: Quad-Core
L2 On-board Cache: 2x 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 24-way,
Inclusive, 64 byte line size, 2 threads
sharing

< Features >
SSE Technology: Yes
SSE2 Technology: Yes
SSE3 Technology: Yes
Supplemental SSE3 Technology: Yes
SSE4.1 Technology: Yes
SSE4.2 Technology: No
EMMX - Extended MMX Technology:No
SSE4A Technology: No
HTT - Hyper-Threading Technolo:No
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:00 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

hey TOM thanks for the quick response.. sandra is up there.. god I feel naked now
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:05 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

thirdsouth, welcome again,

Whats with all the HID devices showing? And exactly what is your RAM configuration?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:12 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

well, HIDs.. wish I knew what they were... and RAM.. I think they are DDR2 2gb? 2 of them? where should I look for you?
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:13 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

... And what buffer errors are you getting?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:14 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

sorry it says up in sandra that they are DDR3 and I have 2 of them in the mohterboard I know that but it says 3 gb in one place, 2gb in another,.... but I have 4 gb its a kit the PC store said
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:17 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

well it'll be increase, or decrease, you know how it goes. Try one then the other, but if I try doing anything like turning on or off plug-ins during playback, I'll get one of the errors, and I'll change it , still happens, then I mix everything down to bare bones 2 audio tracks, and I put 5 plugs on the master and I get a DAE error when trying to record, saying the hard drive isnt fast enough or the firewire bandwidth is too big or something.. but I have a Studio harddrive, and the drive was fast enough to play and record over 20+ midi tracks with 3+ plugs each and 5 master plugs.. i dont get it... because I dont have hyperthreading? is it my motherboard?
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:21 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

Your Sandra report is suspiciously with out RAM info. Maybe you should try to run this again or check to make sure you have not excluded it by mistake.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:29 PM
thirdsouth thirdsouth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: 12% CPU usage and I'm getting buffering/DAE issues!

well I didn't include the WHOLE report on here, its huge.. and I can't find it in the report searching for "random acces memory" or "ddr3" it doesn't show up.. I did a WHOLE system analysis so it should have been there.. what should I look for in the 'find' box to find that info in the txt file?
__________________
Asus P5K SE Intel P31/P35 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3Ghz
Vista Home SP2 32-bit OS
4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM ) RAM
ATI Radeon HD3800
HD's:
Int: WDC500gb
Ext: WD My Book Studio 500gb
Ext: Iomega HD 250GB song storage
Mbox2 Mini
FaderPort
Roland Fantom Xa
Korg Triton Le
Akai Mpc 1000 (128mb ram, 40gb HD)
UAD-1e (w/ 4k Bus Compressor)
KRK Rokit 5 Monitors (woofer on order)
Phonic SupremeDI A6200
2 x Dbx 266XL Compressor/Gates
EL7 Fatso
Presonus FP10 Firepod
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
having H/W buffering issues ronald villegas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-09-2011 07:10 PM
Still-Buffering Issues tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 96 05-09-2007 08:10 PM
Buffering Issues revisited... tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-16-2007 04:19 PM
Buffering Issues and Pwr Harness? 002R tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-15-2007 09:56 PM
Anyone else have CPU Usage issues? koncept 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-27-2004 04:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com