Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:09 AM
NickHBailey NickHBailey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 26
Default Lexicon RTAS plug in

Anyone know if the new Lexicon MX200 (Not the MPX200) will work with the VST-RTAS wrapper? I'm sure the plug-in would still open, but I'm wonder if the external processing would still function. It would be nice to have a Lex reverb that acts as a plug-in but does the processing in a hardware unit. I'm sick of DVerb and would like to be able to run reverbs without taxing the CPU. Has anyone heard it? Does it sound good?
Anyone heard the new Wizooverb? Only 200$ for a convolution reverb sounds too good to be true.
__________________
Dual 1.25GHz G4 MDD/1 GB RAM/OSX 10.3.7/MBox/PT LE 6.7/DP 4.12/Mach Five/Reason 2.5/KRK V8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:53 PM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

I know the TC Powercore works with a vst-rtas wrapper. Supposedly with pretty awesome results. So I would imagine that any VST would work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:50 PM
NickHBailey NickHBailey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 26
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

I've answered my own question actually, but this might be of use to others as well. The Lexicon MX200 has a USB port on it that connects to your computer. There is a VST plug-in (that I will assume works with the wrapper) that provides an interface to edit the parameters on the hardware unit. The USB carries no audio however, just the control information...which means that you can automate the parameters of the MX200 hardware just as you could an actual plug-in. The actual audio must still be connected via analog or SPDIF (44.1 or 48). I don't know about anyone else, but this seems like a very cool concept. Being able to edit parameters on a hardware unit with a plug-in interface combines the best of both worlds. The ease of plug-ins with the processing power and better sound of a hardware unit.
The best (or worst) part is that the thing only costs 200 bucks. I'll have to hear it first, but if it even resembles the quality that I've come to expect from Lexicon I'll run out and buy one. Anyone heard/used one yet? How does it compare to other Lex units/other soft reverbs?
__________________
Dual 1.25GHz G4 MDD/1 GB RAM/OSX 10.3.7/MBox/PT LE 6.7/DP 4.12/Mach Five/Reason 2.5/KRK V8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:46 PM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

Hey man keep me posted on how the thingsounds. This sounds like it would be a good investment if its any kinda good ( i think the delays and such would be an even better value than the verbs)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:07 PM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

While I've been out of the loop for a couple of years while traveling...

I'd been successfully running a Lexicon MPX 500 hardware effects unit as a 'plug-in' for years prior.

1) Stuck the hardware MPX 500 on the S/PDIF I/O.

2) Labelled the S/PDIF insert as "MPX 500".

3) Created a Patch Name Document (OMS at the time) to contain all the MPX 500's Preset Names.

Even the MPX 500 front panel knob can be controlled via MIDI, allowing you to 'draw' their parameters in a MIDI track in the Pro Tools Edit window.

Worked a treat. Calling up preset names in a flash automatically from within Pro Tools, and running reverb as an digital insert on an aux track to save on CPU.

The result: 32 tracks, and up to around 35 plug-ins on a measley 450MHz G4. Terrific!

From what I can tell, all this new MX 200 offers is a prettier on-screen editor, however, the editing I spoke of with my MPX 500 is no diffrent then drawing in pan or volume levels that you're already familiar with. As far as the 'insert' side of things go, the set-up is identical. The hardware device becomes part of the digital environment, but without the tax on the CPU.

Not dismissing this new device, only to say that the concept has been around for years and is very successful in operation.

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2005, 05:04 PM
Bluemoon Bluemoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 159
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

I love my 500! There is not one plug-in that comes close to an actual Lexchip, even their own. Also, damn sight cheaper than software, wrappers, and a rack mountable box that is a PC, a nice name on the front, and some, not much, preinstalled software. I bought an MPX500, two TLA5051s, and a Joe Meek VC2, for 500 quid less than the TC Powercore+Software+Wrapper.
__________________
Is this the blues I'm singing?
------------------------
G5 2.5dual, 4Gb Ram 2x250gb HDs. Using PTLE 6.9 under OS10.3.8.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:31 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,519
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

Yes. much luv for the MPX500 here too. I have mine hooked via midi, for beat clock sync and sysex dumps.

rock

sdf
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:50 AM
NickHBailey NickHBailey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 26
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

Quote:
While I've been out of the loop for a couple of years while traveling...

I'd been successfully running a Lexicon MPX 500 hardware effects unit as a 'plug-in' for years prior.

1) Stuck the hardware MPX 500 on the S/PDIF I/O.

2) Labelled the S/PDIF insert as "MPX 500".

3) Created a Patch Name Document (OMS at the time) to contain all the MPX 500's Preset Names.

Even the MPX 500 front panel knob can be controlled via MIDI, allowing you to 'draw' their parameters in a MIDI track in the Pro Tools Edit window.

Worked a treat. Calling up preset names in a flash automatically from within Pro Tools, and running reverb as an digital insert on an aux track to save on CPU.

The result: 32 tracks, and up to around 35 plug-ins on a measley 450MHz G4. Terrific!

From what I can tell, all this new MX 200 offers is a prettier on-screen editor, however, the editing I spoke of with my MPX 500 is no diffrent then drawing in pan or volume levels that you're already familiar with. As far as the 'insert' side of things go, the set-up is identical. The hardware device becomes part of the digital environment, but without the tax on the CPU.

Not dismissing this new device, only to say that the concept has been around for years and is very successful in operation.

Phil

I realized that this was possible shortly after I posted. I guess I just got caught up in the marketing. If the thing sounds good though, I'd still like to get one. Lexichip for 200, seems like a good deal...plus the interface will still be a nice plus.
__________________
Dual 1.25GHz G4 MDD/1 GB RAM/OSX 10.3.7/MBox/PT LE 6.7/DP 4.12/Mach Five/Reason 2.5/KRK V8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:08 AM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

Hey there,

Speaking of the almighty MPX 500...

While my Digi001 refuses to get on nicely with my iBook (and never will), I've been running my MPX 500 off my (analogue) mixer's aux sends/return to keep me entertained until my Digi002 upgrade.

It's surprisingly noisy, and then some, depending on the preset that's in use.

Have you guys noticed similar?

Not something I picked up on S/PDIF, yet if the 'preset that's in use' affects the noise factor, it makes me wonder if it's more than noisy DA converters and/or preamps.

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:52 AM
Tibbon Tibbon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 45
Default Re: Lexicon RTAS plug in

I got an MPX1 instead and i'm sooo glad. Much more pro than the MPX500. The only downside to the Lexi units is using them Live is a drag if you try to switch patches.

I'm looking at getting a Yamaha REV-5 and a few other Lexicon ones to round out my inserts at mixtime.
__________________
David Fisher
Taylor Barefoot Productions
Boston, NC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lexicon RTAS plugin coming! lifer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 10-09-2009 07:21 PM
PSP Lexicon plug-in, "real" lexicon, or other? pkcraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-19-2003 03:21 PM
New RTAS plugins : PSP Lexicon 42 and Lexicon 84 Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-15-2003 08:21 AM
Lexicon PSP 42 and PSP 84 in RTAS format for Mac! OgnKog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-15-2003 05:22 AM
Lexicon PSP 42 and PSP 84 in RTAS format! Antoni Ozynski PSP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-14-2003 03:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com