Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2013, 05:46 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,603
Default Totally a la carte

Stopped by my dealer yesterday and he informed me that S6 will in fact be available a la carte.

You could start with an M40 Master Touch, an Auto Panel, 8 faders, and 5 knobs. TFTs and more faders could be added later.

He's working on getting me final pricing, will report back what I find.

I sure hope his information is correct, this is good news indeed!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2013, 02:33 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 970
Default Re: Totally a la carte?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Stopped by my dealer yesterday and he informed me that S6 will in fact be available a la carte.

You could start with an M40 Master Touch, an Auto Panel, 8 faders, and 5 knobs. TFTs and more faders could be added later.

He's working on getting me final pricing, will report back what I find.

I sure hope his information is correct, this is good news indeed!!
That sounds very interesting ! Thx for the info
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2021.3.1  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2014, 04:51 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 702
Default Re: Totally a la carte

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Stopped by my dealer yesterday and he informed me that S6 will in fact be available a la carte.

You could start with an M40 Master Touch, an Auto Panel, 8 faders, and 5 knobs. TFTs and more faders could be added later.

He's working on getting me final pricing, will report back what I find.

I sure hope his information is correct, this is good news indeed!!
"a la carte" ? sounds like the basic setup.....

How about an M40 master with just fader packs? Not going to happen but good marketing post....

S6 M40-based Configurations:
With 8 faders, 5 knobs per channel, and TFT displays (all resellers will offer) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpxBpGQjpbQ (goto 2:12)
With 16 faders, 5 knobs per channel, and TFT displays
With 24 faders, 5 knobs per channel, and TFT displays
With 32 faders, 5 knobs per channel, and TFT displays
With 16 faders, 9 knobs per channel, and TFT displays
With 24 faders, 9 knobs per channel, and TFT displays
With 32 faders, 9 knobs per channel, and TFT displays


S6 M10-based Configurations:

With 8 faders, 5 knobs per channel
With 8 faders, 5 knobs per channel, plus Producer’s Desk
With 16 faders, 5 knobs per channel
With 16 faders, 5 knobs per channel, plus Producer’s Desk
With 16 faders, 5 knobs per channel, plus leg assembly and Producer’s Desk
With 24 faders, 5 knobs per channel
With 24 faders, 5 knobs per channel, plus Producer’s Desk
With 24 faders, 5 knobs per channel, plus leg assembly and Producer’s Desk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2014, 08:44 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,603
Default Re: Totally a la carte

I still want to know....

can I just buy:
Master Touch (either M10 or M40)
Mater Auto
8 Faders
1 process module
1 five knob module

No frame, no nothing else.

And if so, what's the price for each piece?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2014, 12:48 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,603
Default Re: Totally a la carte

finally got my answer.


No.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:08 PM
syra syra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 370
Default Re: Totally a la carte

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
finally got my answer.


No.
I found the opposite BUT it will cost more than the pre-made pieces. It's better to buy preconfigured and sell what you won't use.

I do think that Avid made a very poor choice not to offer the pieces totally a la carte. They should require you buy the master module (M10 or M40) and anything else should be completely separate. They would have sold many more of these units. Many many more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:13 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,603
Default Re: Totally a la carte

Quote:
Originally Posted by syra View Post
They would have sold many more of these units. Many many more.
The lack of coherent information is comical. No one seems to know what's up.

As to your last statement. I agree 100 percent.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:27 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 702
Default Re: Totally a la carte

Quote:
The lack of coherent information is comical. No one seems to know what's up.
Typical Avid thinking........ Bean Counters......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2014, 03:21 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,603
Default Re: Totally a la carte

Quote:
Originally Posted by syra View Post
I found the opposite BUT it will cost more than the pre-made pieces.
BTW, I'm talking about the M10, which isn't available a la carte.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-07-2014, 02:39 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 237
Default Re: Totally a la carte

I would very much like to know the price of just the m40 main, no faders, knobs or automation module.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Totally hosed...what now? IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-03-2005 07:29 AM
No Akai converter for Sampletank ala carte SSRJazz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-16-2002 01:59 PM
sorry - totally OT, but... Cinemafixer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-23-2002 10:57 AM
protools isis carte gigabyte samys Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 11-14-2001 10:25 AM
Quelle carte video avec pt le isa2 Le Forum en Français 1 11-05-2001 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com