Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:06 PM
r.fornelli@yahoo.com r.fornelli@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: menifee
Posts: 3
Default Crackling & Hissing in Pro tools 9.0.6

I am to trying to record my guitars with distortion through my Mbox mini 2.. Using Pro Tools 9 Eleven Free. I Seem to get a lot of crackling noises and hissing... I Downloaded Amplitube... I Can kinda clean it up a bit... (I am new to Pro tools and Mbox and have been in a cave recording with tape cassettes.) I am recording to my C Drive.. BTW SYSTEM 700GB 7200 RPM, 2gb ram, duo core processors, 2.0 USB, Windows7... Should I try an External HD? ...( I cannot add another internal..). What do you guys think??? Or am I SOL...with this set up

Thanks
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2012, 10:33 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,711
Default Re: Crackling & Hissing in Pro tools 9.0.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by r.fornelli@yahoo.com View Post
I am to trying to record my guitars with distortion through my Mbox mini 2.. Using Pro Tools 9 Eleven Free. I Seem to get a lot of crackling noises and hissing... I Downloaded Amplitube... I Can kinda clean it up a bit... (I am new to Pro tools and Mbox and have been in a cave recording with tape cassettes.) I am recording to my C Drive.. BTW SYSTEM 700GB 7200 RPM, 2gb ram, duo core processors, 2.0 USB, Windows7... Should I try an External HD? ...( I cannot add another internal..). What do you guys think??? Or am I SOL...with this set up

Thanks
Ron
Yes you definitely need a second hard drive of some kind to record to. You could also bump up the Playback Buffer to see if the noise goes away, although you'll encounter more latency the higher the buffer is set to.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools HD 2022.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro hissing, crackling, master volume issues jonz44 FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 18 09-29-2013 02:31 AM
Hissing Crackling m_atrix13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 02-06-2010 08:08 AM
Input hissing in Pro Tools jaydar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-23-2008 02:38 PM
Input Hissing in Pro Tools LE jaydar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-22-2008 09:05 AM
hissing/crackling noise dj nik bean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2006 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com