Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2010, 05:15 PM
n8tron n8tron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 152
Default pro tools crackling problem

I've been having a problem with pro tools that I've learned to deal with but have become really sick of it lately. I'll open a session, hit play and probably 3 times out of 5 the audio cracks and cracks as it plays. All I have to do is change the buffer setting, or the cpu % setting and as that changes the problem goes away for the remainder of the time I am in the session. What could be causing this?

Mac Pro 10.6 pro tools 8.0.3, digi 002R....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:19 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,152
Default Re: pro tools crackling problem

Try trashing prefs
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2010, 02:10 AM
Darney Darney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 408
Default Re: pro tools crackling problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by n8tron View Post
I've been having a problem with pro tools that I've learned to deal with but have become really sick of it lately. I'll open a session, hit play and probably 3 times out of 5 the audio cracks and cracks as it plays. All I have to do is change the buffer setting, or the cpu % setting and as that changes the problem goes away for the remainder of the time I am in the session. What could be causing this?

Mac Pro 10.6 pro tools 8.0.3, digi 002R....
What Albee said... also, sounds like the issues you get when using a lightpipe interface but have the clock set on internal rather than the optical.
__________________
“What fresh hell is this?” - Dorothy S. Parker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metallic crackling in Pro Tools Express BrendanG Windows 0 03-13-2014 12:17 PM
Crackling & Hissing in Pro tools 9.0.6 r.fornelli@yahoo.com Pro Tools 9 1 04-14-2012 10:33 AM
Pro Tools 9 and Crackling 003 Rack Inputs Kadzuki Windows 0 09-27-2011 10:47 AM
Pro Tools 8 crackling quadrifoglio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-19-2011 09:22 AM
Still getting crackling sound with Pro Tools 9 Ransom Pro Tools 9 21 01-10-2011 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com