Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2007, 12:21 AM
rennyren rennyren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Queens NYC
Posts: 43
Default Creating Loops Efficiently

Probably another stupid question but i was taught one way to create an effective loop on pro tools. This way is to select 4 bars (for example), find the tempo manually using the tempo ruler and, by trial and error, typing in the numbers so the loop locks into place. This way is effective but i find that later on when i am duplicating the loop on a track, the loop seems to go "off tempo". It ends up either a little bit short or a little bit over. Even if i magnify the end of the loop 20 times it seems to lock into the 4 bars but when i duplicate it on the track it ends up a bit over or a bit short. Can anyone give some advice on creating loops so they dont end up being off when u duplicate it a number of times? I hope i worded this right.

Ren
__________________
Digi002 Control Surface, Power Mac G5 Quad 4x2.5GHz 3GB , Lacie 320 GB Hard Drive D2, M-Audio Octane Preamp, Akai MPC2000XL, Korg Triton 61 Key
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2007, 01:14 AM
arvid.lind arvid.lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: stockholm, sweden
Posts: 153
Default Re: Creating Loops Efficiently

Quote:
Probably another stupid question but i was taught one way to create an effective loop on pro tools. This way is to select 4 bars (for example), find the tempo manually using the tempo ruler and, by trial and error, typing in the numbers so the loop locks into place. This way is effective but i find that later on when i am duplicating the loop on a track, the loop seems to go "off tempo". It ends up either a little bit short or a little bit over. Even if i magnify the end of the loop 20 times it seems to lock into the 4 bars but when i duplicate it on the track it ends up a bit over or a bit short. Can anyone give some advice on creating loops so they dont end up being off when u duplicate it a number of times? I hope i worded this right.

Ren
Perhaps your regions slides off the grid simply because they ARE a a few miliseconds off the beat?

Make sure that you have the whole 4 bars highlighted when you perform the duplicate.

Try this way:

First by finding the tempo manually,(in grid mode) but only as close as the nearest bpm, for example 120 bpm instead of 119.8. Then use the time compression/expansion mode in the trim tool to adjust the region to the grid.

hope his will solve your problem!

good luck

arvid
__________________
Studio:
PT ULTIMATE 2021.10 | HDX1 with Omni in Sonnet chassi | MacPro 2013 6-core 24 GB ram | OSX Catalina | 2 x Avid Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2007, 04:51 PM
rennyren rennyren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Queens NYC
Posts: 43
Default Re: Creating Loops Efficiently

great advice arvid.lind! i will try that method.
__________________
Digi002 Control Surface, Power Mac G5 Quad 4x2.5GHz 3GB , Lacie 320 GB Hard Drive D2, M-Audio Octane Preamp, Akai MPC2000XL, Korg Triton 61 Key
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating loops hoke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-07-2006 07:00 AM
creating drum loops rvrman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-26-2004 02:32 PM
Creating Loops in Pro Tools??? CraigD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 05-13-2004 03:20 AM
Creating more complex loops ixnys Tips & Tricks 16 07-23-2003 01:35 PM
creating drum loops badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-19-2003 11:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com