Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2006, 01:35 AM
PJJames PJJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Back?

Hey guys,

Currently I'm running a M-Audio Project Mix i/o and using an Mbox 2 as well. I'm going to sell both and get an 002R I think, but I'm using a Macbook Pro with only 1 firewire 400 port. What I want to know is if I can run my Digi 002 into the computer direct...then send my firewire drive through the back of the 002 through the second firewire 400 port. Or visa versa. Has anyone ever tried this? Will it work? To me if makes sense. Thanks for the responses ahead of time.

PJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:11 AM
New Hope Media New Hope Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Ba

The firewire port on the DIGI002R is 'officially' not for Hard drives. Somewhere in the technical info they indicate that it is specifically for firewire devices like Camcorders etc but not for Hard Drives.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:21 AM
PJJames PJJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default Re: Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Ba

Now my Glyph drive has two firewire ports in the back...could I run the 002 through that??? And even though it states the 002 firewire's arent for that...would it work??? Thanks.

PJ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:50 AM
New Hope Media New Hope Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Ba

I don't see any reason why running the DIGI002 after the hard drive wouldn't work though i haven't tried it.
I have a Sony DV Deck plugged in after my DIGI002R and it works well that way but I have a spare Firewire port on my Mac Pro for other devices at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:58 AM
PJJames PJJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default Re: Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Ba

Dude thank you so much for help...It's very much appreciated.

PJ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:39 PM
DJ Insomaniac DJ Insomaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Ba

Ideally, and as Digidesign states, it's best to have the HD first (more direct transfer w/ the computer, i guess?) then the Digi002 second. There really is no reason to do it otherwise.
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Mix Technician, Freelance Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer
samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter

rMacBook Pro 2.2 gHz Core i7, 10.10.3
16 GB RAM
MOTU 828mkII, PT 12.1 HD
Axiom 61, 2xArtist Mix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire 800 - Digi 002r rthor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-14-2010 08:42 AM
Best firewire drive for mac digi 002r studiojb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-26-2007 10:36 AM
Digi 002R Firewire Problems PhilyG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-20-2006 04:37 PM
Can The Digi 002R Take A Firewire HD In The Back? PJJames 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-31-2006 05:23 AM
digi 002r firewire? problem Punch Drunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-02-2005 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com