Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:49 PM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 745
Default G4 / Tiger / 6.9.2 - Memory Requirements

I had the opportunity to update to Mac OS 10.4.2 / PT 6.9.3. I have an MDD Dual 1GHZ w/ 1GB Ram. This meets the reuirements in the Digi documents. But this more sluggish than 10.3.8 - significantly. The max ram my system can take is 2GB. I would like to jump into a G5, but until this I saw no reason other than a bit more power for soft synths but at the sacrifice of a PCI slot. I have a 4 card HD Accel system. This begs the question - is more RAM really actually gonna do a lot for me? Or are there other system tweaks that I could do - like how to turn of widgets (I would sacrifice that cool thing for some speed back ...)

Any help most appreciated

Ainslie
GD MDD 1GHZ / 1GB
HD4, PT 6.9.3cs1
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2021.12, S3, Dock, MTRX Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2005, 01:45 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: G4 / Tiger / 6.9.2 - Memory Requirements

Quote:
[…] is more RAM really actually gonna do a lot for me? […]
I spent a couple of days working on my (then) new dual 2.5 G5 with only 1 Gig of RAM, while waiting for the additional 2 Gigs to arrive. After I finally installed it, the difference between the two amounts actually shocked me. The OS alone literally sprung to life. Everything else (all the things we care about ’round here) is now pretty much glitch-free, except for actual bugs.

I know it may sound crazy, but I now consider 2Gigs to be the minimum viable amount of RAM for OSX as a DAW platform.

Cheers.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2005, 04:20 PM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 745
Default Re: G4 / Tiger / 6.9.2 - Memory Requirements

Thanks for that .. after spending a little time looking at the system activity and memory usage I decided to deactivate all widgets. I see that with just PT in a 70 track session it is using 1GB or VM. All VM used is 7GB. To run totally from RAM is impossible with the way Tiger (and Panther) is set up for VM. So the more RAM you have the better - I guess. of course I can only load 2GB on my G4. So i am seeing more reason for the G5 each day ... gosh - I can't believe how far the memory needs have skyrocketed since OS9!

Ainslie
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2021.12, S3, Dock, MTRX Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2005, 07:57 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,088
Default Re: G4 / Tiger / 6.9.2 - Memory Requirements

Quote:
I had the opportunity to update to Mac OS 10.4.2 / PT 6.9.3. I have an MDD Dual 1GHZ w/ 1GB Ram. This meets the reuirements in the Digi documents. But this more sluggish than 10.3.8 - significantly. The max ram my system can take is 2GB. I would like to jump into a G5, but until this I saw no reason other than a bit more power for soft synths but at the sacrifice of a PCI slot. I have a 4 card HD Accel system. This begs the question - is more RAM really actually gonna do a lot for me? Or are there other system tweaks that I could do - like how to turn of widgets (I would sacrifice that cool thing for some speed back ...)


Hey - FWIW, I'm running an HD3 on a dual 867 w/1G Ram on Tiger, and noticed *no* slowdown from 10.3.8 to Tiger. In fact, the system is much snappier under Tiger (though ProTools remains the same). I believe that if you don't ever invoke Widgets, they won't chew up any resources (after they are invoked, they continue to occupy some RAM until the next restart even though they're inactive). Also, is it possible that Spotlight is still indexing some of your drives in the background? This will definitely slow things down. BTW, you *can* turn Spotlight off by editing your /private/etc/hostconfig file in the Terminal.

Just a few thoughts - hope they're helpful...

rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2021.10 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:49 AM
GTveito GTveito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 53
Default Re: G4 / Tiger / 6.9.2 - Memory Requirements

We are running 6.9.2/Tiger on G4 DP 1.25 with 2G RAM. Decided to upgrade the G4's instead of buying G5, next computer upgrade will probably be XP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.4.8 (Tiger) Security Update 2009-005 (Tiger Intel) Help Brushfire Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-25-2009 09:16 PM
Memory requirements for Digi bundle magnoliaman Virtual Instruments 4 01-14-2008 09:32 AM
proper panther to tiger with clean tiger install doug_hti Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 07-10-2005 05:00 PM
Memory requirements for PT 5.1? Studio Dweller General Discussion 0 01-29-2001 11:24 AM
OS9/PT/DAE Memory requirements? cerberus Tips & Tricks 0 11-02-1999 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com