Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2022, 02:35 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 283
Default Carbon with Monterey

just a quick heads up, I've recently upgraded to 12.6 and ProTools is running very smoothly with the Carbon on my hackintosh. It seems Apple have updated the AVB framework and it looks like it is putting much less strain on my CPU than with Big Sur, where the fans were spinning constantly. Fortunately that is gone with the latest 2022.7 and Monterey 12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2022, 03:33 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

Good to know, I might try upgrading my Mac Pro 7.1 from Catalina to Monterey then - I didn't like Big Sur so I went back. But connecting the Carbon increases idle power from 90w to 150w, so it will be interesting to see if Monterey is better.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.6, Pro Tools 2022.7.0.105, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2022, 04:43 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 283
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

might be worth a shot, though please note that I have not done any in-depth testing regarding CPU usage, this is just a subjective observation based on the fan speed of my computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2022, 05:25 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
might be worth a shot, though please note that I have not done any in-depth testing regarding CPU usage, this is just a subjective observation based on the fan speed of my computer.
Understood and thanks for the clarification.

I can always revert to Catalina if there's a problem.
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.6, Pro Tools 2022.7.0.105, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2022, 05:34 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

MY system is running great on Monterey ....Now I have not actually timed it, but I think PT Ultimate 2022.6 takes longer launch than what ever PT version I was using on Catalina ???
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2022, 06:05 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,702
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

So as we have 2 Carbon interface and right now both using Catalina on our 7.1’s will the Carbons run as good as they do now on Monterey you think?

Thanks for the info and as awalys much appreciated
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2022, 07:02 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 283
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

If things are smooth with Catalina I would definitely stick with that until you are forced to upgrade. In my case I was not really happy with Big Sur and tried to get rid of some hackintosh related issues. My other rig is HDX on Catalina and I do not plan to upgrade that one any time soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2022, 07:30 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,792
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
So as we have 2 Carbon interface and right now both using Catalina on our 7.1’s will the Carbons run as good as they do now on Monterey you think?

Thanks for the info and as awalys much appreciated
As I noted on my system (with 10 gen intel i7 processor iMac) so far it is running smooth and seems to be running as well as it did on Catalina, but I can't really say if is actually running any better or not .
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2022, 07:34 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,702
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

Yeah good thinking and as they are the working machines we use to make our living off we will stay with Catalina until we need to make a change. Both HDX3 and Carbons and PTU along with the programs we use run 100% no need to screw with that.

Thanks both for the thoughts :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
If things are smooth with Catalina I would definitely stick with that until you are forced to upgrade. In my case I was not really happy with Big Sur and tried to get rid of some hackintosh related issues. My other rig is HDX on Catalina and I do not plan to upgrade that one any time soon.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2022, 12:57 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Carbon with Monterey

I just upgraded my Mac Pro 7.1 from Catalina (10.15.7) to Monterey (12.6) and the power usage at idle is now 80 watts (down from 90 watts) and the power usage at idle with the Carbon switched on is 125 watts (down from 140 watts). So, a marginal improvement.

I haven't tried PT yet, but this machine doesn't really break a sweat with the kind of things I do.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.6, Pro Tools 2022.7.0.105, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2021.7 with Monterey. Anyone? mspin macOS 2 06-07-2022 07:54 AM
M-Box 3 with OS Monterey philip_purcell FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 3 05-23-2022 09:25 AM
Monterey is now available Obsidian Dragon macOS 80 02-05-2022 10:52 AM
Monterey IOS rjbee Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 11-25-2021 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com