Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2015, 08:15 AM
Sndnerd Sndnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 52
Default D-command ES sticky faders

I have a 24 channel D-command that I bought used and I have bad case of sticky faders. Here's what's going on: random faders on random given days don't register touch. If I cajole them enough, tap, wiggle, caress them.. they start to work again. Popping the caps is usually the first course of action. but sometimes that doesn't work. At first I thought I had dead faders.. bought 4 new ones from the avid dealer and they promptly stopped working. way to waste 500 bucks.. anyways I thought it might be a grounding issue- tried plugging into different circuits (that have different grounds) and same thing. I guess next step would be to get ground tested (not sure how to do this?) aside from that has anyone gone through this before? it's happens both equally in main unit and fader pack. It's driving me crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2015, 08:34 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

tried all this? http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ility/en210819
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2015, 12:58 PM
Sndnerd Sndnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 52
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Yes! thank-you. standing up seems to be the solution. Hopefully i'll still be able to sit in my Aeron...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2015, 01:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Yep if your feet don't touch the ground then you are insulated. A grounded mat and feet deliberate touching it may be all you need. Check the desk is properly grounded as well.

I would not give up an Aeron for anything, esp. with the later posture fit back design...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2016, 08:39 AM
Sndnerd Sndnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 52
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

I'm still struggling with sticky faders on my D-command.. standing up only occasionally works, I always have between 3-6 dead faders. I think it's safe to say I've eliminated grounding from the equation, installing new faders also doesn't help. Anyone out there have any other suggestions? I'm starting to think I have a lemon on my hands..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2016, 09:52 AM
kdramsey kdramsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sndnerd View Post
I'm still struggling with sticky faders on my D-command.. standing up only occasionally works, I always have between 3-6 dead faders. I think it's safe to say I've eliminated grounding from the equation, installing new faders also doesn't help. Anyone out there have any other suggestions? I'm starting to think I have a lemon on my hands..
What type of flooring do you have where the D-Command is located? I had laminate wood flooring on concrete and it caused the same issues you are describing. I would have to stand up and be barefoot to get all of the faders working reliably.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2016, 07:05 AM
Sndnerd Sndnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 52
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Thanks. It's wood on concrete, I've tried barefoot too..
I do think I've had a revelation though with these faders. it's simply the way they are designed, they require positive lateral pressure for the contacts to be always touching the strips. for whatever reason some of them have lapses where they loose contact. If you give them a good sideways wiggle you can get them to behave. I've also started pulling them out and placing copper tape in between the contacts to give them some extra material in between so they always stay in touch. Still experimenting with this. Huge relief though to FINALLY understand what's been causing this headache for 2+ years. I'm surprised the design of these faders hasn't been brought up before.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2016, 04:11 PM
TFH TFH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 27
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sndnerd View Post
Thanks. It's wood on concrete, I've tried barefoot too..
I do think I've had a revelation though with these faders. it's simply the way they are designed, they require positive lateral pressure for the contacts to be always touching the strips. for whatever reason some of them have lapses where they loose contact. If you give them a good sideways wiggle you can get them to behave. I've also started pulling them out and placing copper tape in between the contacts to give them some extra material in between so they always stay in touch. Still experimenting with this. Huge relief though to FINALLY understand what's been causing this headache for 2+ years. I'm surprised the design of these faders hasn't been brought up before.
Hello Sndnerd,

Have you found a solution? Did you put copper tape under the caps?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2016, 04:59 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Interesting, I've heard about the upgrade to carbon fiber faders(?) but I didn't know what that was supposed to fix.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2017, 07:43 AM
Sndnerd Sndnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 52
Default Re: D-command ES sticky faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFH View Post
Hello Sndnerd,

Have you found a solution? Did you put copper tape under the caps?
Yes I've done a couple rounds of fixes now on both consoles (to be clear I have both the older and newer versions of the carbon faders found in the D-command ES). The copper tape appears to be holding up well on the 6 faders I had that were completely non-responsive, they work fine now. I still have occasional dropouts on other faders, I'm finding a firm 'tap' to the left fixes this. So I'm more or less 100% on all 48.. hoping it stays that way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D Command faders 'sticky' in first 4-6 positions blankpro ICON & C|24 4 09-06-2011 01:58 PM
Sticky Faders 002 MartyR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-18-2006 07:47 PM
sticky faders on a C24 buvaudio ICON & C|24 0 05-22-2003 05:51 PM
Sticky Faders on 002 - Is this right? OneMadSon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-28-2002 05:17 AM
HUI and sticky faders adesound Tips & Tricks 2 04-07-2001 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com