Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-27-2020, 10:47 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontLetMeDrown View Post
I have a completely different setup and this has been a problem for me on Windows for many years (Even pt9 HD software on Win 7) but is intermittent so difficult to diagnose. Never was able to pinpoint why it works sometimes but not others. Would love to see this get fixed.
Have you tried opening and then closing a setup dialog that references the interface? Or setting a record mode such as Destructive? That fixes it for that channel, for my system, until I record enable another track. It's clumsy as all heck, but at least I can work. Also interesting is I've never had this problem until I did this upgrade.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-05-2020, 11:47 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Here is an update from the support engineer that worked on this case:

Hi Roger,

I've just finished a meeting with our engineers and they've confirmed that it's a known bug, that's already been tackled by the team.

The number of the bug is PT-253835 and the fix should be released very soon, so I'll keep the case open for now to let you know.

Currently, the only known workaround is what you've actually been doing already, which is going in and out of punch but this will be fixed in the upcoming Pro Tools update.

Kind Regards,
Kamil
Avid Global Customer Care | Audio Post & Pro
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-05-2020, 02:22 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,937
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Kudos for pursuing this so well. Hopefully you get a fix soon.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-05-2020, 07:56 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Kudos for pursuing this so well. Hopefully you get a fix soon.
Thanks for your help as well.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-13-2020, 07:38 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Well, I just installed 2020.11 and it's even more broken that before. At least I used to be able to use the 'work around'. Now, no matter what I do the problem is there...and to boot, the delay is at least twice what it used to be. Also, LLM is still as broken as it used to be...you still can't hear the track playing back until the punch in point. I have to uninstall 2020.11 and re-install 2020.9.1... and hopefully get back with the support engineer.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-21-2022, 01:18 AM
edwinstar's Avatar
edwinstar edwinstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 235
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Hello! I know, this Thread is two years old, but time flies and I am still having this issue. You as well? LLM is ON, Track is Record enabled, Press Play: Audio is out of Sync when i have Plugins on the Track (which should get bypassed by LLM). I am in contact with Support and they are aware of the issue, but no fix yet.

For anyone new to the issue:
I made a simple Test Session with Two Tracks:

LLM Sync Issue Test Session

Track 1 has Boom Loop on it and Track 2 has another Boom Loop on it. If i Press Record enable on one of the Tracks, the two Beats go out of Sync when the following conditions are:

- There must be a high latency Plugin on the Track (Pitch II in the Test Session)
- LLM is ON
- Allow sends to persist during LLM is OFF
- There must be an actual Audio Input (not a Bus) assigned to the Track

If you want to make the issue go away, activate "Allow Sends to persist"!
Can anyone confirm this as well? I tried it with different Audio Interfaces and Computers (Mac) and it's always the same!
Thank you!

Last edited by edwinstar; 11-21-2022 at 02:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 2020.5 Cloud Collaboration Broken Patheticus Pro Tools 2020 11 02-07-2021 12:38 PM
ProTools 2020.3 + Catalina 10.15.4 + UA Apollo issues agoraphobia Pro Tools 2020 1 05-05-2020 07:37 AM
Monitoring through headphones with Apollo 8 - when selecting Low Latency Monitoring Mick335 Pro Tools 12 2 04-10-2018 09:34 AM
Overdub monitoring level conundrum? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2011 03:51 AM
Overdub / Punch Ins - Double Monitoring Workflow Issues geelo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-16-2008 12:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com