Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2022, 10:33 AM
borwick.alex borwick.alex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Default 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone else is having a similar problem with PT 2022.9, or has a solution?

For some reason I can't grab/move MIDI notes at all anymore, either click-and-drag with the mouse, or using Alt to duplicate a note! Someone please tell me I'm doing something stupid, or there's a new option somewhere in the preferences?

I also can't edit multiple MIDI notes the way you used to be able to: Cmd-A to select all MIDI notes, and then you were able to edit all their lengths! This isn't working any more for me :-(

Any leads much appreciated.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2022, 10:36 AM
borwick.alex borwick.alex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Also can't drag Note velocities up or down either.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2022, 02:26 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Pretty sure this is a known issue. 2 possible solutions:
1-change midi/instrument tracks to samples(instead of ticks)
2-save>close>re-open the session
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2022, 08:48 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Pretty sure this is a known issue. 2 possible solutions:
1-change midi/instrument tracks to samples(instead of ticks)
2-save>close>re-open the session
+1 for samples instead of ticks. I believe this only happens in older sessions opened in 22.9. This workaround has also solved ARA issues for me in older sessions. Old sessions don't seem to translate well. A cursory midi test in a brand new 22.9 session here didn't seem to produce those known midi issues.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2022, 09:42 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 839
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
+1 for samples instead of ticks. I believe this only happens in older sessions opened in 22.9. This workaround has also solved ARA issues for me in older sessions. Old sessions don't seem to translate well. A cursory midi test in a brand new 22.9 session here didn't seem to produce those known midi issues.
I've run into this a couple of times with older sessions and I worked around it by making a new session and then using File->Import Session Data .. and then importing the old data in. That seem to work around the issue.

Must be some session compatibility thing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2022, 12:13 AM
simonator simonator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

One more vote for tick to samples.

One quick fix that sometimes (not always) works: Reconsolidate the bad clip to create a new version. I've seen this with notes that finish outside the clip end.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2022, 02:39 AM
borwick.alex borwick.alex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Pretty sure this is a known issue. 2 possible solutions:
1-change midi/instrument tracks to samples(instead of ticks)
2-save>close>re-open the session
Amazing, thank you! Solved it. What a relief.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2022, 09:08 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,880
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff markham View Post
File->Import Session Data .. and then importing the old data in. That seem to work around the issue.



Must be some session compatibility thing.
Hi i can't reproduce here with new session . Everything is working a expected. So i think what Jeff said is the best solution.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2022, 06:09 PM
trevvahhh trevvahhh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 18
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

I have this bug too, 2022.9, Monterey 12.6

Brand new session in 2022.9, two audio tracks one midi track

changing to samples and then back to ticks fixed it, but doing that a lot is going to get annoying
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2022, 06:33 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: 2022.9 Can't grab MIDI notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevvahhh View Post
I have this bug too, 2022.9, Monterey 12.6

Brand new session in 2022.9, two audio tracks one midi track

changing to samples and then back to ticks fixed it, but doing that a lot is going to get annoying
This bug has been around since 22.6. I expected it to be fixed in 22.9, but it's still there. It also affects ARA sometimes, as in frozen blobs. Switching to samples always solves it. I haven't started any fresh sessions yet in 22.9, but I don't expect to encounter it. I strongly believe it only happens in older sessions. I haven't had time to investigate thoroughly, so I will stand corrected if I'm wrong about this.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 94 10-18-2022 09:17 AM
START CLICK GRAB (PC) CTRL CLICK GRAB (Mac) Kris75 Tips & Tricks 2 07-23-2013 10:53 AM
midi copy/duplicate: 7.4 can't grab 1st quantized note glankrudolph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-16-2008 08:33 AM
Recording Midi notes and keeping existing notes during record Sherbert99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-15-2008 10:40 AM
GRAB the MIDI KeyBoard in the Edit Window- scroll gollywillickers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-12-2006 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com