Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2016, 04:40 PM
puddle puddle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Hi. Does anyone know why my audio tracks would have gone white and no audio coming from them?? I;ve checked the output and input and playback engine is correct. Completely confused? Im on Pro Tools 12.6.. Thanks you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2016, 12:28 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Quote:
Originally Posted by puddle View Post
Hi. Does anyone know why my audio tracks would have gone white and no audio coming from them?? I;ve checked the output and input and playback engine is correct. Completely confused? Im on Pro Tools 12.6.. Thanks you
can you post a pic please ...
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2016, 12:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,282
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Are you sure your files are in place?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2016, 06:10 PM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 514
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Sound like you maybe moved or deleted the parent files for the regions in your session.

Did you move/delete audio files since the last time the session worked?
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:51 AM
puddle puddle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Sound like you maybe moved or deleted the parent files for the regions in your session.

Did you move/delete audio files since the last time the session worked?


I dropped the files in from my desktop, and then deleted them from the desktop. Would this remove them? It hasn't happened before. Otherwise I hadn't removed any files. I installed some plugins, but nothing else.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:53 AM
puddle puddle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Are you sure your files are in place?
Yes I believe they were in place, as in they were working before?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:53 AM
puddle puddle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Are you sure your files are in place?
Yes I will post something this evening. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2016, 10:25 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Quote:
Originally Posted by puddle View Post
Sound like you maybe moved or deleted the parent files for the regions in your session.

Did you move/delete audio files since the last time the session worked?


I dropped the files in from my desktop, and then deleted them from the desktop. Would this remove them? It hasn't happened before. Otherwise I hadn't removed any files. I installed some plugins, but nothing else.
Yes if the desktop is the only place you have them stored on the computer then yes deleting them would remove them.

Are you getting the Missing files warning when you open the session ?
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2016, 01:48 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 942
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

You've got to go into preferences and hit 'copy files on import', then anything you drag into your session will be copied into you Audio bin in your session folder. Which will eliminate issues like this in the future. Either that or "Save Copy In' to consolidate your session. But IMO just hitting copy on import is the easier option.
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.10|Perpetual • MTRX Studio • HDX1 • Sync-X • S3 • DockMac Mini 2018 - 3.2GHz i7 6-core macOS 11.6 • RAM 64GB DDR4 GPU AMD 6900XT 16GB • Monitor LG 32UL950-W
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2016, 02:03 PM
puddle puddle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Audio tracks gone white and no audio playing from them

Yes I have the missing files warning. I think I see what I've done now. Thank you Ill import them again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help superdood Digidesign Hardware & Software 13 11-19-2021 09:31 AM
PT 10 not playing audio on some tracks. help please [SOLVED] THE_NIK macOS 11 10-24-2014 05:52 AM
White noise on new audio tracks jglunt2112 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 08-13-2012 06:38 PM
tracks not playing audio till plugs are reinserted Seeee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-18-2004 02:08 PM
Playing Absynth through PTLE. Only through Audio Tracks? Timothy72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-06-2002 05:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com