Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2010, 03:29 PM
hendrixrocker2 hendrixrocker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Default Using Virtual Instruments without Midi Keyboard

I have this old Casio Keyboard with a Midi in and Midi out slots but no cord to connect it to my Mbox 2 Mini or to my computer. So...

While I wait to purchase a new keyboard, is there anyway to use these Virtual instruments with my mouse or computer keyboard?

and is there anyway to connect old keyboards such as my to a computer? I've been looking at this, do you think it'll work?
http://www.amazon.com/Cable-Converte...pr_product_top
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:00 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Using Virtual Instruments without Midi Keyboard

Virtual instruments can be used without a keyboard. You would just need to enter the notes manually. (meaning, you won't actually be able to play them)

You can connect your old keyboard as well. I would probably not recommend the MIDI interface you linked, though it might work. I would trust and recommend the M-Audio Uno a lot more. You can get it for about $40 new.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:04 PM
hendrixrocker2 hendrixrocker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using Virtual Instruments without Midi Keyboard

Would I be better off spending $100 and just getting a new Midi keyboard that connects with USB, rather than getting a cord for $40?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:08 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Using Virtual Instruments without Midi Keyboard

It depends; which $100 keyboard?

Most likely, the answer will be "yes".

Some of the older keyboards, especially the "consumer grade" Casio and Yamaha models are overly complicated with regards to getting MIDI working properly, and you will be much better off with a newer keyboard, especially one that connects via USB.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard control of Virtual Instruments Terry Wetzel Windows 17 05-22-2013 06:57 AM
Virtual instruments not responding to keyboard JGlen Windows 2 02-21-2013 12:25 PM
How to control Virtual Instruments via external Midi-Keyboard? Sonic-B Virtual Instruments 5 05-23-2011 03:36 AM
Virtual instruments don't recognize midi skitt123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 08-30-2008 11:14 PM
Virtual Instruments/Midi MusicalWonder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-16-2006 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com