Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-03-2022, 06:11 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 470
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

I have V12-14 and one V11 bundle I'll try out on my Windows system tonight.

Particularly, the V11 bundle.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-03-2022, 06:28 PM
MEIStudio MEIStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

I just bit the bullet and updated the plugs i have. Sad part is i could have bought new licenses for cheaper to cover the 2 plugins i actually still use of theirs for cheaper than the update plan... going to start modding my work flow to get away from using them. Too annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-03-2022, 08:34 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by devs1980 View Post
Anybody else having problems with Waves plugins not working properly? Some of my old Waves plugins keep crashing it, not a problem I'd encountered with the previous version
No problems here so far with v13.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-03-2022, 09:21 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cypress Texas
Posts: 788
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEIStudio View Post
Same issue here. Updated to 2022.9 and something is wrong across all versions of the Waves plugs. Granted mine are long in the tooth. I'm currently running v9, 10, and 11 plugins.

Strangely, the v11 plugins crash protools instantly, whereas the v9 and v10 plugins just have UI issues with higher resolution screens. (they appear small in the corner of the plugin window on higher resolutions and the controls are where they should be on the full window if that makes sense... so a knob thats supposed to be in the middle is still in the middle of the screen, but the GUI is a tiny little thing in the corner). If i move the plugin window to a monitor with a lower resolution, its fine.
I am on Win 10Pro and have not found issues even with V9 plugins so far with 2022.9. Anyone who is having issues can you post which plugin and version you are having issues with, as well as a description of the issue with screenshot if needed? I will then test on my systems any plugin that I have(I think -have ~ 70-80% of their plugins) .
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 64 Gig Memory:Seagate 2x 2TB, 4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 10 pro
PT 2022.9 Studio through an A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-03-2022, 09:39 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 839
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
According to the Waves and Avid Compatibility charts, you would need at least Waves V12 to be on a fully supported PT 2022.9 system. That would be running Catalina 10.15.7. Any higher macOS and you need Waves 13 or 14.
V14 is working fine for me on 2022.9.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-2022, 12:25 AM
npapaleo npapaleo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 36
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

On second thought, after doing some actual testing it seems the only plug-in I'm having issues with is Reel ADT. Not sure if anyone else has this plug-in and can give it a test. All my other Waves plug-ins appear to be working properly . I tested on Logic, Reaper, and Soundminer and all VST3 & AU versions worked without issue. So it appears to be a PT version issue. I've uninstalled and re-installed and verified that I'm using the most current version.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-2022, 12:37 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,291
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by npapaleo View Post
I tested on Logic, Reaper, and Soundminer and all VST3 & AU versions worked without issue. So it appears to be a PT version issue.
Except that with Waves, things are not that straight-forward. They only have one plugin code (shared among different platforms), and every host runs a WavesHell wrapper. As you can understand anything can go wrong right there, but a new wrapper version may fix it (and break something else).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-04-2022, 08:17 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,511
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Wow, Waves really broke some hearts.
V-14 not supported but working well
5,1 Mac metal Mojave.

Ps V8 iLok still works on vintage G5 TDM system
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-04-2022, 08:42 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,504
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

I uninstalled all of my Waves stuff. Problem solved.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-04-2022, 09:45 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,291
Default Re: 2022.9 and Waves broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
Ps V8 iLok still works on vintage G5 TDM system
I have V7 ilok attached to my TDM rig with a security cable. That version of Mercury + Studio Classics works with G5's to Intelsand latest TDM release. All the Waves I will (probably) ever need, and once that rig breaks beyond reasonable fixing cost it is goodbye Waves forever.

Unless they change their policy and support HDX, that is. I made a promise to myself not to re-wup until that happens, but also promise to Waves that I will do it once they start supporting "every major platform" as they advertised.

(My A-list of plugins are the ones working on S6L and now that Apple forced the native issue once again, I could not care less which B-list plugins cannot make it into Apple Silicon world. Good riddance, just like Waves.)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9 anearforgear Pro Tools 17 11-11-2022 09:35 AM
Custom Shuttle Lock Speed broken in 2022.5 [PT-290238] ArchStanton Pro Tools 31 10-26-2022 11:38 AM
Duy plugins gui broken in 2022.9 ejsongs Pro Tools 1 10-03-2022 01:39 AM
Looping regions (Audio and MIDI) broken in 2022.6? XJENSEN Pro Tools 3 07-12-2022 11:26 AM
Is the MIDI zoom on the edit window broken in 2022.05 Windows? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools 1 06-17-2022 07:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com