Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-03-2022, 08:51 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 528
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Dear Avid,


Please give us the option to hide the new tabs (clip fx etc) and viewable midi playlist.


Thank you,


Ej
Your loyal customer for over 20 years
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-03-2022, 08:52 AM
Chevron Chevron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 159
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
Dear Avid,


Please give us the option to hide the new tabs (clip fx etc) and viewable midi playlist.


Thank you,


Ej
Your loyal customer for over 20 years
Ditto
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7.0 | Eucon 2022.9 | Mac OS 11.6 | Lynx Hilo
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-03-2022, 02:24 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevron View Post
I didn't say Melodyne.

It's an easy solution for me, make it fully able to disappear like before. Then top or bottom does nae matter.
The point is that you can’t have ClipFX top AND now Melodyne at the bottom. Has to be one or the other. Or - preferably - the option of putting them in floating windows.

(Also it can at least fully disappear - one of the icons top left above the bottom pane).
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2021 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-03-2022, 08:43 PM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 140
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Another voice for seperate windows for ClipFX / Melodyne.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-03-2022, 08:51 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 966
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Quote:
Originally Posted by teedeecee View Post
Another voice for seperate windows for ClipFX / Melodyne.
Floating un-docked windows would be very cool.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-04-2022, 01:33 AM
Chevron Chevron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 159
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
The point is that you can’t have ClipFX top AND now Melodyne at the bottom. Has to be one or the other. Or - preferably - the option of putting them in floating windows.

(Also it can at least fully disappear - one of the icons top left above the bottom pane).
Yawn, obviously I am talking about the MIDI Ed/Clip FX bar at the bottom....
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7.0 | Eucon 2022.9 | Mac OS 11.6 | Lynx Hilo
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-17-2022, 11:09 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 374
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

I am surprised that I like it on the bottom.

But if they’d give a choice, that’d be fine, too.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-18-2022, 01:14 AM
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 338
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Pro Tools for years has felt like millions of windows opening and closing and going in and out of views and plug-ins, all with very unique UIs (even the stock plugs). It was hard for me to learn at first and feel focused because I was used to docked tabs.

And.... that's what a LOT of the Lounges talk on Link is about. Much more newb users asking for a lot of integration, docking, UI sync.

A lot of it reminds me of what many of you are saying "no way!" to and what I was used to before.

I learned electronic music production and mixing on Ableton Live for 5-6 years before trying Pro Tools at a little recording school. In Ableton, when you click on tracks and clips and use some simple key commands, it's REALLY simple to see in the main pane and docked panes your library, plug-ins, MIDI editor, arrangement, live session view.

What a LOT of new PT users are asking for in the Lounges on Link is simpler, freer, more flexible system, and what some call more efficient creative and mixing workflows.

Really, I see a lot of good options in docking and undocking views, integrating views of inserts.
(10 plug in multiple windows in PT = access by scrolling one strip in Ableton Live bottom pane).
Really, both systems are great.

It's a bit of a pipe dream though to expect it all to be quick and amazing and perfect by next version.
It takes time, and priorities will take shape along the way too.. decisions will be made to go some ways but not others.

As always, devs don't spend much time poking around user forums (neither do those in the software company I work for).
Some of them are working so hard they don't even hear about the bugs that the other manager is saying aren't so important right now.... and so on.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio & testing software / 2nd gig: music software tutoring //
||software: Monterey 12.5.1 | PT Studio 2022.10 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB //
||devices: Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT condenser mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | 32" 4k LG secondary display //
||automation: SoundFlow | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse //
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-18-2022, 01:33 AM
take77 take77 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 468
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

Quote:
Originally Posted by nednednerb View Post
Pro Tools for years has felt like millions of windows opening and closing and going in and out of views and plug-ins, all with very unique UIs (even the stock plugs). It was hard for me to learn at first and feel focused because I was used to docked tabs.

And.... that's what a LOT of the Lounges talk on Link is about. Much more newb users asking for a lot of integration, docking, UI sync.

A lot of it reminds me of what many of you are saying "no way!" to and what I was used to before.

I learned electronic music production and mixing on Ableton Live for 5-6 years before trying Pro Tools at a little recording school. In Ableton, when you click on tracks and clips and use some simple key commands, it's REALLY simple to see in the main pane and docked panes your library, plug-ins, MIDI editor, arrangement, live session view.

What a LOT of new PT users are asking for in the Lounges on Link is simpler, freer, more flexible system, and what some call more efficient creative and mixing workflows.

Really, I see a lot of good options in docking and undocking views, integrating views of inserts.
(10 plug in multiple windows in PT = access by scrolling one strip in Ableton Live bottom pane).
Really, both systems are great.

It's a bit of a pipe dream though to expect it all to be quick and amazing and perfect by next version.
It takes time, and priorities will take shape along the way too.. decisions will be made to go some ways but not others.

As always, devs don't spend much time poking around user forums (neither do those in the software company I work for).
Some of them are working so hard they don't even hear about the bugs that the other manager is saying aren't so important right now.... and so on.
My very first DAW was Sonar X1 which introduced the "Skylight" GUI. Everything dock-able, float-able, with the ability to hide and customize as to screen layout & positioning.
Very symmetrical in design and a good foundation upon which to add new features.
The PT design seems a bit asymmetrical in that it's all being added later; on an entirely different foundation. I feel the same about the dark theme.
That said, it's my guess that the blank space to the right of the newly added tabs might be for more tab additions in the future.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory

Last edited by take77; 10-18-2022 at 02:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-15-2022, 01:17 PM
Jonathan Roesch Jonathan Roesch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Munich / Germany
Posts: 9
Default Re: 2022.9- Moving Clip FX window back to top

+1 on moving it back to where it was.

and pls get rid of that black bar narrowing my edit space!

Last edited by Jonathan Roesch; 11-15-2022 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 04:59 AM
Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List oldskool Pro Tools 2020 8 09-28-2021 02:43 AM
Isue when dragging clip from clip bin to edit window silky38 Pro Tools 2019 2 06-22-2019 07:20 AM
Issue dropping more than one clip into the Edit Window with Clip Transparency ON arb232 Pro Tools 12 0 02-10-2016 07:01 PM
Trying to move clip but only moving selection window yonkiman Getting Started 4 12-11-2014 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com