Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2008, 10:36 AM
tempermill tempermill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Ferndale, Mich, USA
Posts: 5
Default upgrading from mix3, pci, pci-x or pcie, PPC or intel?

I'm having some difficulty finding some reliable information. can somebody explain the difference between the PCI card formats? especially PCI vs PCI-x. I'm trying to put together the most cost effective system. How much difference is there between running an older Dual G5 versus a newer intel Machine? Will I be able to do more with HD2 on a new machine as opposed HD3 on a PPC?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2008, 03:32 PM
dhumez dhumez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: upgrading from mix3, pci, pci-x or pcie, PPC or intel?

The HD3 will outperform the HD2 on any machine simply because you have one more card (9 cells more). The only advantage I see with a G5 is that they tend to be robust and never quit. When I got my HD3 last year I also went with the Mac Pro because of the new architecture, future updates etc... But it is true that you can set up a G5 used or not with a ebay HD2 or HD3 and save a lot.
I have never seen a benchmark test of the PCI versus PCie, s I can comment on that, but it appear to me that the newer version has some quality that the old don't have. (Although sometime MFR remove features from products to save money and fanfare them as new).

However the Hd2 offers only 18 cells for processing audio/plugins, depending on what you do it is possible to Max out an HD2 system rather fast. I have a private studio so an HD3 is adequate for my use, but the Pro studio I am dealing with have 7 cards in a chassis, some studio have even more.

If I was on a budget I will have Logic Pro and an Intel Mac 8 cores. But if you record professionally or want pro quality then PT is the standard.
I have never seen a benchmark test of the PCI versus PCie, s I can comment on that, but it appear to me that the newer version has some quality that the old don't have. (Although sometime MFR remove features from products to save money and fanfare them as new).

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2008, 05:02 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: upgrading from mix3, pci, pci-x or pcie, PPC or intel?

PCI vs. PCIe white paper
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2008, 01:19 PM
tempermill tempermill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Ferndale, Mich, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: upgrading from mix3, pci, pci-x or pcie, PPC or intel?

yes, I've seen that. I'm wondering more specifically about the difference between PCI and PCI-x.

also, can someone speak to how much of the 8core processor on the new intel mac is utilized by pro tools? can it run gobs and gobs of RTAS plug-ins? what would it's equivalent be in Accel cards?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your thoughts for upgrading from PCIx to PCIe now we have PT9 ampnerd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-07-2011 02:32 PM
Magma PE6R4 PCIe x4 plugging into Intel Mac PCIe x16 slot? soloan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-27-2010 01:42 PM
intel DG33TL for pcie hd3? raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-19-2007 12:40 PM
PCIe HD2 or HD3 working on Intel D975XBX ? DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 07-04-2006 12:36 AM
OT: How many of you are upgrading to PCIe Hank5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-27-2006 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com