Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2021, 04:52 PM
joeshepard joeshepard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 42
Default PACE iLok Error stops PT from booting

I tried to open Pro Tools toady and got the error:

"Error,missing PACE authorization for "Pro Tools". Please insert the necessary iLok or rejoin your your iCloud session and restart Pro Tools". ///my only choice at that point is to click "OK" which quits the Pro Tools start up.

My iLok 3 is plugged in and it shows up in the iLok Manager as working.

I tried moving it to a different USB slot and restarting my mac. Same result.

Nothing that I can see has changed since I ran a session yesterday.

PT 2021.7 Mac OS 10.15.7 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz 6 core i7 23GB RAM

Thanks for any ideas,

Joe

Joe
__________________
Late 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB memory, 1TB SSD
MAC OS 10.15.7
UA Apollo 8 Quad Blackface, UA TB Octo Satellite
Pro Tools 2021.6.1
EuCon 2021.6
Logic Pro 10.6.2
2 Artist Mixes
Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2021, 05:00 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 438
Default Re: PACE iLok Error stops PT from booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeshepard View Post
I tried to open Pro Tools toady and got the error:

"Error,missing PACE authorization for "Pro Tools". Please insert the necessary iLok or rejoin your your iCloud session and restart Pro Tools". ///my only choice at that point is to click "OK" which quits the Pro Tools start up.
If you open the iLok License Manager app, do you see a Pro Tools license somewhere? Ideally it should be on your iLok, but also check in "All Licenses"
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.10 / Ableton Suite 11
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2021, 05:20 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,412
Default Re: PACE iLok Error stops PT from booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeshepard View Post
..."Error,missing PACE authorization for "Pro Tools". Please insert the necessary iLok or rejoin your your iCloud session and restart Pro Tools". ///my only choice at that point is to click "OK" which quits the Pro Tools start up...
Sorry for the trouble. iLok status is good, and your licenses look correct on your iLok. avid.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/Error_Message/missing-PACE-authorization-for-Pro-Tools has the basic steps to troubleshoot. I started a support case to try and assist. Pls check your email and reply to the case notice. Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2021, 05:21 PM
joeshepard joeshepard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 42
Default Re: PACE iLok Error stops PT from booting

Yep it's there Pro Tools Ultimate perpetual

I also have a current support plan

iLok account is up to date as is my ZDT
__________________
Late 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB memory, 1TB SSD
MAC OS 10.15.7
UA Apollo 8 Quad Blackface, UA TB Octo Satellite
Pro Tools 2021.6.1
EuCon 2021.6
Logic Pro 10.6.2
2 Artist Mixes
Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2021, 05:45 PM
joeshepard joeshepard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 42
Default Re: PACE iLok Error stops PT from booting

OK

Jeffro is a rock star.

Turns out I had an empty iLok iCloud session open which was confusing the system.

I would have never figured that one out.

FANTASTIC help.

Now, back to work!

Smile

Joe
__________________
Late 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB memory, 1TB SSD
MAC OS 10.15.7
UA Apollo 8 Quad Blackface, UA TB Octo Satellite
Pro Tools 2021.6.1
EuCon 2021.6
Logic Pro 10.6.2
2 Artist Mixes
Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2021, 05:46 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,412
Default Re: PACE iLok Error stops PT from booting

Glad that solved it! I'll update the KB article to include this info.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2021, 03:36 AM
bernstudios bernstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: bern
Posts: 23
Default Missing Pace Authorization HELP!

when I started up protools I suddenly got the message:

Error missing PACE authorization for "ProTools". Please insert the necessay iLok or rejoin your cloud session and restart Pro Tools"

I changed nothing from yesterday and it worked all great always in last 15 years of protools - anyone having the same problem?
I checken with ilok License Manager the license is on the ilok

I used different cables and hubs, blue light of the ilok is on.. what could this be! I need to finish some work..!!

thx for your help

Macbook Pro (15inch 2019), 2.4 Ghz Intel Core i9, 32GB Ram
Mojave 10.14.6., Protools 2021.6.0

Last edited by jeffro; 10-23-2021 at 10:17 AM. Reason: Merged threads with same topic.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2021, 03:40 AM
bernstudios bernstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: bern
Posts: 23
Default Re: Missing Pace Authorization HELP!

Update: moved my license to my cloud and now it works again - but I want it on my ilok
all my other licenses work from my ilok..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2021, 04:25 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,016
Default Re: Missing Pace Authorization HELP!

I had some strange behaviour from Pace last night, about 10-12 hours ago; there was an alert every few minutes saying 'Error trying to authorize your Pro Tools license with iLok cloud'. Strange thing is, PT continued to work. I've had a few episodes with my iLok Cloud license not working before, but that resulted in PT not working and quitting.

Eventually I restarted the mac, and no more errors. I suspect I could have just opened iLok License Manager and closed and reopened the so-called iLok Cloud Session. It's worked before.

I'd expect if you move the license back to the iLok key, it will be OK again.
Added: Remember to 'close the ilok Cloud session' from the file menu in ILM.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2021, 10:17 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,412
Default Re: Missing Pace Authorization HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bernstudios View Post
...Error missing PACE authorization for "ProTools". Please insert the necessay iLok or rejoin your cloud session and restart Pro Tools"...
Good advice from Ben (thanks). Merged your thread with a similar one from yesterday - closing an unused iLok Cloud session (all license were on their iLok USB Key) solved it. I updated avid.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/Error_Message/missing-PACE-authorization-for-Pro-Tools with this info.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok PACE error message paul_g Licensing & Accounts 18 04-03-2021 02:37 PM
PT 9.03, starts booting, then just stops! Badelement1 macOS 11 10-07-2014 06:37 PM
DPM stops PT 8.0 & 8.01 from booting up Wawili_Sound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-29-2009 09:42 PM
iLok - Pace MIA? HassanDavis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-21-2009 01:31 PM
Digidelivery stops on Booting to OS greenwood Aspera DigiDelivery 3 09-03-2008 02:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com