Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2021, 08:10 PM
TattooedPreacher TattooedPreacher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Eureka, California
Posts: 2
Default Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

So I have a Mac mini with the M1 chip and I installed PT 1st to see if it will work for me. Today I went to use it after a few months of non-use and now I cannot import .m4a audio files; getting the Install Apple QuickTime (which is installed). Iíve tried reinstalling PT and QuickTime but still wonít work. Is there another way to bring in audio files?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2021, 10:03 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,622
Default Re: Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

Were m4a ever supported for direct import? I know wav, aif, sd2, and mp3 are/were, but Iím not aware of it ever directly supporting any other file types.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2021, 12:32 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,468
Default Re: Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Were m4a ever supported for direct import? I know wav, aif, sd2, and mp3 are/were, but Iím not aware of it ever directly supporting any other file types.

I think (itís been a while) Pro Tools can import an m4a file if itís encoded as AAC. I donít believe it can import an m4a file if itís been encoded as ALAC.

Itís kind of annoying as they use the same container (m4a) but are entirely different algorithms. Same as renaming an m4a file as m4r for their ringtone format. Same AAC encoding, but different file extension.

Again, itís been a while, but I do think you can import an AAC m4a file. I recall dragging in music from iTunes purchases years ago without converting. Not in the studio otherwise Iíd test it for you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2021, 03:00 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,600
Default Re: Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

Hi, welcome to the community.

Some file formats are "broken" since Catalina and moving to 64-bit only. Also no video engine for Apple Silicon. We need to use workarounds for now.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2021, 08:00 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 696
Default Re: Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TattooedPreacher View Post
So I have a Mac mini with the M1 chip and I installed PT 1st to see if it will work for me. Today I went to use it after a few months of non-use and now I cannot import .m4a audio files; getting the Install Apple QuickTime (which is installed). Iíve tried reinstalling PT and QuickTime but still wonít work. Is there another way to bring in audio files?

Hereís a complete list of supported files as of PT 2021.6.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...e-Type-Support

What version of Pro Tools are running on your Mac Mini?

You can convert the file to .wav using Shutter Encoder
https://www.shutterencoder.com/en/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2021, 09:04 AM
TattooedPreacher TattooedPreacher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Eureka, California
Posts: 2
Default Re: Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

I exported my songs to .wav and was able to upload them into PT that way. Not sure why I thought I used .m4a files a few monthís ago. Thanks everyone for responding.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2021, 06:40 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,450
Default Re: Apple QuickTime Install Mac Mini M1

I'm pretty sure m4as files would import into Pro Tools until recently. I have used them many times from my iTunes library.

I'm not running the latest Pro Tools so I guess the issue appeared in recent versions? I'm not running Catalina either but rather Mojave.

Stephen
__________________
Mac mini 16Gb Memory- 256Gb Storage, Big Sur, Pro Tools 2021.10, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple, QuickTime And PT GTBannah Pro Tools 2018 13 02-01-2018 10:33 AM
FS: Apple Mac mini 2012 quad i7 2.6 in Sonnet XMAC MINI SERVER rack Jamie Mac Buy & Sell 1 07-02-2017 12:50 PM
Apple Software Synth-QuickTime fdcfrank2016 macOS 3 01-28-2016 10:25 AM
Apple Quicktime 7.6 99ster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 02-05-2009 10:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com