Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2005, 12:55 PM
Brain Digger Brain Digger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 344
Default APEX 460 tube mic

Anyone tried this mic? I am a liitle worried about the 20dB-A self noise.
__________________
XP Pro SP2
PTLE 7.4cs2-002R
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz
K8V-SE Deluxe 4G DDR400
Radeon 9200SE-128M
Maxt 80G; WD 200G
CG8 200G SATA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2005, 01:52 PM
rlcowa@work2 rlcowa@work2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA USA
Posts: 207
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

I just reseived my Apex SP2 pack of mics with the 460, 415 and 2 185s. I had the the 460 plugged in along side all my other "best" mics. I was very impressed with the 460. The smooth low end was just what I was looking for. The 415 is also pretty impressive.

For $389 at 8th Street, it was a deal! I have yet to record with the 460 but think it will be great! I may very well pick up another SP2 pack just to have some extra pairs.

Can anyone compare the Apex 435 (IntelliDoc has 4 I hear) and the 415? I like the 3 patterns on the 415. It sounded very smooth as well.

Blessings! R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:43 PM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

I have 2 435's and use them all the time for acoustic mics. I own 4 oktava 012's.....

Great mics for the money.

- Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON YOUTUBE

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:49 PM
badperson badperson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

Quote:
I own 4 oktava 012's.....



I may very well pick up a pair of these...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:53 PM
doylemusic doylemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 812
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

I just ordered a pair of 435's (gotta see what the rave is about). If anyone wants to pick up a matched pair of the apex 435, I know where you can get a good deal. Shoot me an email.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3.0
1 HDX Card
Lynx Aurora 16 (2)
Windows 10 Pro 1909
ASUS X-99 II
Intel i7
32GB RAM
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
www.doylemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2005, 04:08 PM
Brain Digger Brain Digger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 344
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

ANyone heard of this other line coming out of China-------NTEC ie NTEC 3300, 5500 tube mics

One is on ebay right now? Never heard of them except that they are trying to copy Neuman mics.

I too am shopping for more mics and the price just seems soooooooo great.

I have a microtech gefell UM70S, some audiotechnica,..........and very little cash.
__________________
XP Pro SP2
PTLE 7.4cs2-002R
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz
K8V-SE Deluxe 4G DDR400
Radeon 9200SE-128M
Maxt 80G; WD 200G
CG8 200G SATA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2005, 04:30 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

Quote:
ANyone heard of this other line coming out of China-------NTEC ie NTEC 3300, 5500 tube mics

One is on ebay right now? Never heard of them except that they are trying to copy Neuman mics.

I too am shopping for more mics and the price just seems soooooooo great.

I have a microtech gefell UM70S, some audiotechnica,..........and very little cash.
If you're looking for budget "Shanghai" imported mics that are a bit above the bar as far as most of the imported "Shanghai" mics go...then you should look at APEX and ADK (if you really want to talk budget...look at ADK's Generis line of mics).
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2005, 04:37 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

Actually looking at the NTEC I saw on ebay...I wouldn't be surprised if it's the exact same capsule, transformer, body, and circuit design as the Apex 460 and Telefunken USA R-F-T M16. I'd buy the cheapest of the bunch, replace the caps, possibly the resistors (but probably not necessary), try a few different 12ax7 tubes, and replace the transformer with either a lundahl or a jensen. Total cost with mods for the 460 would be likely less than $400, and sound ten times better than the Tele RFT M16 (which cost $1200+ for a nearly identical mic).
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2005, 06:41 PM
Dogcode Dogcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sechelt, B.C. Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

Hi Brain......

...I`ve got one. You cannot go wrong for the money. $260.00 at Long and McQuade.....this mic is a steal.

...Roy
__________________
PT 9
Control 24
003 Rack
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad
Adam A7
Waves Gold, VSeries
Pultec Bundle
URS, McDSP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:11 PM
Brain Digger Brain Digger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 344
Default Re: APEX 460 tube mic

Quote:
Hi Brain......

...I`ve got one. You cannot go wrong for the money. $260.00 at Long and McQuade.....this mic is a steal.

...Roy
Thanks Roy and all.

It just seems odd that you do not see anybody advertising the use of these mics on their studio websites.



Re: NTEC mics

They are built for Gotham Audio out of Ontario and their is a distributor out here in Vancouver. I do not know anything about them but they are mailing me the specs and prices.

Here is a link to the NTEC mics I mentioned:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
__________________
XP Pro SP2
PTLE 7.4cs2-002R
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz
K8V-SE Deluxe 4G DDR400
Radeon 9200SE-128M
Maxt 80G; WD 200G
CG8 200G SATA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apex 460 Mic Tube swap Dogcode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-02-2006 05:23 PM
Apex 450 tube mic macr0w 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-13-2004 10:54 AM
ART Tube DPSII Stereo Tube Pre? Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-26-2003 03:39 PM
behringer tube pre or blue tube?? help me ????? dreeam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-25-2001 11:56 PM
Apex 450 mic. Dinkus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-05-2001 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com