Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:19 PM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Phantom Power

A little earlier today me and this guitar player were laying down some tracks. I had a AKG 414B-uls on his amplifier and he unplugged the mic cable without turning off the phantom power. I briefly tested the mic to make sure it was ok and it may be. But how much dammage do you think was or could be done. I'm always very carefull to turn off phantom power before connecting or disconnecting any condenser mics. But he did it without my knowledge. Grrrrr. It may not be the greatest mic but it cost almost $800 bucks.
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:20 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Phantom Power

The mic will be fine... it's okay to unplug while phantom power is on.. but make sure your studio monitors are turned off or the channel is muted.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:32 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: Phantom Power

Shouldn't be a problem..
and BTW...I do find 414's to be an excellent and versatile mic...

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2004, 07:36 PM
nightshadecrisis nightshadecrisis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairfax, California
Posts: 1,125
Default Re: Phantom Power

yeah the only problem would be if the channel is unmuted and your monitors are way up...could cause a blast...reminds me of the time i patched a reference track to a channel already used....damn, i NEARLY blew my tweeters...
__________________
ik zei nooit dat!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phantom Power paulrgmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 12-11-2009 01:39 PM
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 02:10 AM
recording with phantom power *and* without phantom power simultaneously SweetSoulSound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-22-2008 08:40 PM
Phantom power and mic with power supply? hotstuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-20-2005 01:56 PM
Phantom power optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-10-2003 10:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com