Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2021, 04:25 AM
Fuzzyc Fuzzyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 74
Default Export Tracks, retaining track names

I looked around the forum but wasn't able to find a clear answer to my question. Sorry if I overlooked it somewhere.

I need to export a large session while retaining the track names. I only need to send the processed audio files. When I export the individual wav files, I loose the track names. Each track takes on a name starting with the session name followed by a string of characters (i.e. "Traveling LbdrqMYPZfpwqVBBB"). I need for the person receiving the files to know which track is the bass gt, lead vocal, kick drum, etc.

Any help here would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Fuzzyc
__________________
-------------------------------------
Model: PC AudioLabs Rok Box i9
OS: Windows 10 64 Bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900KF CPU @ 3.60GHz
Memory: 32GB
Internal Hard Drives:
500GB= Programs
1TBGB= Audio
1tbGB= Samples/Back Up
External Hard Drives: Verbatim 1TB USB Drive
RME Fireface UFX Interface/Preamps
Pro Tools 2021
Focal CMS 65 Monitors
Avantones
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2021, 05:06 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,711
Default Re: Export Tracks, retaining track names

Not sure I understand. When I Export the audio on a track, I name the Clip and when I Export that Clip it retains the name I gave it.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2021, 06:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,274
Default Re: Export Tracks, retaining track names

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Not sure I understand. When I Export the audio on a track, I name the Clip and when I Export that Clip it retains the name I gave it.
This^^^. You need to name the clip(not the track)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2021, 11:28 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,711
Default Re: Export Tracks, retaining track names

"I only need to send the processed audio files."

Maybe the OP is bouncing the tracks individually to retain the processing and any automation? Which would not happen when exporting if the effects are real-time and there is any automation on the track. But there is a place in the Bounce Dialogue to name the file.

If that's what needs to be done, then "Commit" would be the route to take, then name the resulting Clip and export it.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMF/AAF export/import - track names Mringlesworth Post - Surround - Video 0 06-19-2014 11:44 AM
Track names vs Playlist names bredo Pro Tools 10 6 01-07-2013 09:29 AM
How to export track names in a text file? lapieuvre Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 06-29-2010 10:52 AM
MIDI Export not retaining channel info? peterg MIDI 0 04-17-2007 08:42 AM
PT shifting tracks/retaining automation/volume immediatejon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-20-2005 07:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com